The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Market House Inn, Glastonbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Rhys Honor on 3rd February, 2011

Add your review
We visited for 5 days and had a lovely courtyard room at the back. It was a lovely friendly hotel and busy. Good room and great help from the staff. It was a good visit and unforgettable. We will go back there this spring for visit number 2. Glastonbury is beautiful and very spiritual and well worth a good explore.

Date visited: November 2010

Review by ben brown on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
comfortable and clean rooms. friendly bar staff. open mic night on tues eve was a blast, really friendly! 9/10

Date visited: 13/01.09

Review by adam page on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
stayed for weekend a lot going on! friendly locals, told there used to be music on weekends but not anymore. would've been good i think. rooms clean and comfy. shared bathroom clean spacious. good drink prices! 10/10

Date visited: mar 09

Review by L Oakes on 6th November, 2008

Add your review
Well, where do I start, visited this establishment last year, there were few problems, but this year (oh my god), the rooms were standard (what you pay for is what you get i suppose, pay for friday, saturday & get sunday free). The breakfast on the other hand was disgusting, swimming in grease (un eatable). The next day at breakfast we thought we try something nice & easy to prepare (oh no, couldn't even get that right

Date visited: 31/10/2008

Review by Pat McKay on 19th August, 2008

Add your review
How I wish I had also read the reviews on this so called "Inn".My husband and I totally agree with everything that has been printed. We also had the downstairs double room which is like living in a goldfish bowl if you dared to open curtains and pull torn blinds up.The coffee and tea facilities were not rotated as when 2 packets of coffee were opened the coffee had turned into a black mould. The bar was packed with drunken noisy teenagers spilling drinks all over the floor making walking through to room very hazardous. The breakfast supplied was good but to reach dining room you have to walk through bar which is not very pleasant. I would not recommend anyone to stay in this Inn and at £70 per night I think it is disgusting.

Date visited: 15th August 2008

Review by Ruth Bullock on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
Why oh why didn't I read the last review before booking this 'inn'. I am astounded that the comments made previously still stand a year later!! We must have had the room below the one the last people who reviewed this inn stayed in. We found it in a similar state except the shower didn't work and we had to ask for toilet rolls. Staying on a Friday evening was a very bad idea for the same reasons as the other comments but being on the ground floor we couldn't even open the curtains at all as people would have been able to see in. So we were almost confined to a scruffy, dirty and cramped cell, the only good thing was that the bed was a least clean. There seemed to be no-one about to whom we could complain. How they have even survived this long in offering accomodation at this staggering price we cannot imagine. It is an embarrassment to think that they can continue to offer this standard of accomodation to any visitors especially foreign visitors. Please take them off your site. Ruth Bullock

Date visited: 30/05/08

Review by andrea jerome on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
The family run atmosphere promised by other write-ups did not exist - has this Inn changed hands since they were written I wonder? The room was dirty (not hoovered, bathroom floor dirty), not aired (the windows are sealed shut), clearly had been smoked in, the furniture was shabby and flimsy. There were 3 single beds and a double crammed into a double room, the shower ran hot and cold and then, when the room downstairs started their shower, the water stopped completely. The bar area was full of drunk teenagers all night, some swearing outside my parents' room, smelly and sticky floored. The breakfast area was an offshoot of the bar, so Sunday's breakfast was accompanied by the smell of spilt beer and stale cigarettes. The breakfast itself was good and well cooked, and the method of ordering for a specific time the night before was good. At no time during my stay did I see anyone who seemed to be supervising. The inn was more 'backpacker' than 'family inn', and at £70 a night, I am astounded and disgusted. I have travelled all over the world staying in guest houses and cheap hotels and this is worse even than places I have stayed in Africa. My advice - steer well clear - save your money and book into a real backpackers, and get the same quality of accommodation!

Date visited: 30/6/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Men do less than they ought, unless they do all that they can. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Drake Starts round the world voyage - 1577, Battle of Alton - 1643, Battle of the River Plate - 1939, Jackanory First Broadcast - 1965
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages