The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Schooner Hotel & restaurant, Alnmouth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by William on 29th October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Very friendly staff,good bar prices(cheapest in the village) and the Indian restaurant was superb! Bad Points: Could have been better aknowledged by breakfast service staff. General review: Good value for money and look forward to staying again in the future. Hotel is in need of some work but it is in hand with the new owners already making a start.

Date visited: 2009-10-29

Review by Mrs E White on 4th May, 2009

Add your review
My friends and i booked 2 nights acc at the Schooner to celebrate my birthday after looking forward to this outing for weeks, travelling on motorbikes to explore all Northumberland had to offer, we arrived at the Schooner only to find one disaster after another, cobwebs over a foot long in several places, wiring that was a danger to anyone, basically this hotel should not be letting customers through their doors until they have had a complete refurb, how it is still able to sell rooms to the public is beyond me, to me it is such a sin that such an old building with so much history could be treated this way, however Alnmouth itself is worth a visit very pretty and lots more nice places to stay, give it a miss people if you know what is good for your health.

Date visited: sat 25th April 2009

Review by frank mccoy on 6th October, 2008

Add your review
Booked a room for a night for our daughter and son in law to enjoy their wedding anniversary. A sorry tale of no heating, no hot water, hole in room door, wire poking out of ceiling. At £75 a night!!! It was so bad they didn't even stay for the breakfast which we had paid for. They couldn't leave fast enough. A complete disgrace to the region!! These people should not be in business.

Date visited: 2 October 2008

Review by PRT on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
Not surprised that this hotel has got some bad recent reviews. I stayed there many years ago through work and was impressed. I went back a year or so later with my wife but despite having booked and given my credit card details in advance, they had no room for us. We went further up the coast where we were made very welcome. I certainly won't be going back to this place.

Date visited: 2001

Review by margaret mcglynn on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
I believe in giving praise where it is due but I cannot in all honesty praise this hotel. My findings were that it was dirty and shabby. The food was diabolical and the service was terrible. Our bedroom was old and large and luckily the room was basically clean but a coach party from Halifax had problems with bedding and towels. One waitor tried to serve 16+ breakfast tables which meant that the breakfast was cold and food poor. Teh tables were dirty and dishes strewn about. There was no cutlery or crockery and guests had to ask many times for things like milk spoons knives and basically breakfast etc. I have never stayed in a place that gives itself such a good writeup but fails to deliver. The fact that we had to pay up front and at a lot more than a guest house gives you expectations but this overnight stay was something that I will never repeat and I did not see any ghosts!!!!

Date visited: 24/5/08

Review by Mr and Mrs Archer on 25th November, 2007

Add your review
We have been visiting the Schooner hotel for many years and we can honestly say that this visit will be our last. Approximatly 2 years ago the hotel changed hands and standards have dramatically dropped. We found the beds clean with fresh sheets. However, the bathroom was filthy with hairs ect left in the bath and sink. The bins had not been emptied and the carpets had not been vacummed for a considerable length of time. We had booked in for 2 nights (£110) but only stayed 1 after realising on opening the curtains, that the bedroom window was broken and pigeon feaces was found on the windowsill in close proximity to the tea and coffee facilities! We are very dissappointed with this dramatic drop of standards and advise anyone who is planning to stay here to reconsider.

Date visited: 21/11/07

Review by Mr Glover on 18th November, 2007

Add your review
Dropped in for Sunday Lunch with the kids. Main restaurant was empty but to be expected for the time of year. Should have left when when we heard the "interesting karaoke” from the bar area. Either way friendly staff - but the food was awful. Worst Sunday dinner we've had - fish that one of the young ones ordered was not cooked properly - not recommended based on our visit.

Date visited: 18/11/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Actually american football is a lot like rugby but why do they keep on having all those committee meetings? - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Last execution by burning in Britain - 1789, Britain 1st linked to the continent by Telephone - 1891
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages