The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Hostelrie at Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Steve on 16th September, 2010

Add your review
Went fishing on the River Wye, and couldn't have booked a better place. Alun and Lisa are two brilliant individuals who make you feel welcome from the get-go. Being fishermen we was up early so missed the breakfast times. No problem Alun made us pack lunches instead. And what a pack lunch is was, cheese and crackers, sandwiches and crisps, fruit and orange juice. Best packed lunch i've ever had. Did you for lunch too there was that much. At dinner time we went to the restaurant. WOW, best food i've ever tasted seriously. Scallops for starters, rib-eye for main meal and apple crumble for dessert. The three waiting girls are stunning, polite, efficient and very pretty. Also after a hard days fishing very welcoming to talk too. Even if the fishing is bad you would still visit again. The bedrooms are clean and have a nice atmosphere. The beds are comfy, and plenty of storage for your stuff. However I was most impressed by the hot water. Never ran out and always red hot. Radiators in the rooms to dry your clothes on. All in all, a great place to stay, and will definitely visit again.

Date visited: 10th -13th Sept, 2010

Review by Amanda Smith on 29th August, 2010

Add your review
What can i say, but absolutely lovely, the owners couldn't be more welcoming. The food was lovely, we got there for the Blues and steak night on Friday, and the steak was beautiful, even my son loved it. Plus the locals are really friendly too. There is lots to do around there, Ross on wye town centre is about 10 minutes away, and Monmouth was about the same sort of time from there. Plus you have Goodrich Castle a ten minute walk from the Hotel, which was a lovely day out, people of all ages will enjoy. If you fancy a weekend break, go to the Ye Hostelrie Hotel, i'll be going back, as we didn't get to do alot of things we, wanted to do. Thanks again Alan and Lisa. xxxx

Date visited: 27-29/8/10

Review by alun lewis on 25th June, 2010

Add your review
Just wanted to note that the Hostelrie changed hands on the 7th of July this year. My wife and I are trying to put right the damage done by the previous landlord. All are welcome, we are dog and child friendly, new menus, new people no white coats.... info@thehostelrie@goodrich.com Thanks

Date visited: 25/06/2010

Review by Anne Phillips on 8th March, 2010

Add your review
My first reaction would be sad.. Such a beautiful old building being run into the ground. The building is in bad repair, the room and bedding leaves much to be desired. Old fashioned and it would seem like the owner is running it on a shoe string. We had a meal, which was made by the same man who ran the bar. He seemed to change into a white coat rush into the kitchen then back out to serve drinks. Half the pumps were not in use, when we asked why were told it didnt pay him as no one asked for them. And then the meal arrived, well, anyone who wants a greasy spoon effect will be very pleased. When someone serves you with unbrushed hair, dirty fingernails and the pub is in dire need of love and care it doesnt make for a happy meal. There was a black board in the dining room with 1 special on it, and sandwhiches!!!!!!! Childrens drawings were an added touch, how they relate to a good pub meal is beyond me. Not a place we would go to again nor recommend to friends. Sad but true. Anne from the Cotswolds

Date visited: Feb 2010

Review by J and M on 20th August, 2009

Add your review
Enjoyed an excellent lunch with friends at Ye Hostelerie on Friday 14th August 2009. Very relaxed atmosphere in a family run pub/hotel. Warm welcome and excellent service. Good menu of locally-sourced, home cooked food. Good local beers and an impressive range of ciders. Looking forward to our next visit. J and M of Gloucestershire

Date visited: 14th August 2009

Review by Sally on 11th October, 2007

Add your review
A lovely hotel with a real village pub atmosphere. The staff were welcoming and the natives friendly. Good food too, we'll definitely return!!

Date visited: 10th October 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Pleasure is none, if not diversified. - John Donne
More Quotes

On this day:
Worlds Oldest Football Club Founded - 1857, Wall Street Crash - 1929, Formation of UN - 1945, Last Commercial Concorde Flight - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages