It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cafe Bangla, Rushden

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jack on 21st December, 2012

Add your review
Cafe bangla is a goog resturent in rushden food & service exelant price good someone complain that's not true

Date visited: 25/8/2011

Review by naz on 11th January, 2012

Add your review
i work at cafe bangla i will just like to say we did not overcharge the customers as most people were drinking alot of alcholic drinks and when it came to paying most people denied it as they were regular customers we offered 40 pounds off as a gesture of good will not because we messed up because we did not. we have alot of regular customers we cater for alot of parties all of our customers enjoy our excellent food and service and always return. we do not have any policy of overcharging customers AS THIS IS WRONG AND IF WE DID THIS THEN WE WOULD HAVE BEEN OUT OF BUSINESS A LONG TIME AGO. we value our customers highly and would do anything to make every visit a pleasure both with the food and service. thankyou

Date visited: 09/01/12

Review by Caz on 16th July, 2010

Add your review
On the 14th July 2010 20 of my friends and I went to Café Bangla in Rushden High Street for a meal to celebrate my 20th birthday. We were all appalled at the level of customer service we received after our meal and believe we were all ripped off – ruining my birthday and upsetting a lot of my friends. Our bill came to a total of £440.00 for 21 of us – just under £21 each without a tip. I chose Café Bangla as we have had nothing but good food and customer service from there in the past. I thought it would be a great place to eat as everyone would be able to afford it as it is usually a reasonable price. The end of the night put a downer on the whole thing as everyone felt they were truly ripped off. Me and my boyfriend had 4 drinks in total – 2 Magners (Costing £3.10 each), a Cobra (Costing £3.95) and a diet coke (Costing no more than £3 surely?!). I chose not to dispute the price of my Magners – as it states on the menu that it is a 660ml bottle when in fact it is only 568ml but still charged at the same price. In total with our meal that would equal £29.05 if the diet coke was £3.00 – which is a high price for a soft drink that’s always flat on arrival due to being out of a big bottle. However we ended up paying over double what we should have done and paid £60.00 – making it a very expensive meal out for 2 courses! Luckily it was my birthday otherwise I would not have had the money on me and would not have been able to afford it. All of my friends on the other hand had to empty their purses as they were all aware it would cost around £15.00 with drinks. I have never been to a restaurant before and treated so badly at the end of the night – the owner would not come to any compromise on the bill regardless of our claims of clearly being overcharged. The final £20.00 that was left outstanding on the bill was offered as a compromise by my boyfriend – he would either pay the £20.00 to settle the bill, or alternatively they would see us all again despite everything that had happened. Unfortunately the £20.00 was more important to them than their reputation of being a good business and their customers quite clearly – as he took this from his card without a second thought and lost a lot of future customers in doing so. I would certainly not have paid the last £20.00 to settle the bill, as I think we were overcharged by £85.00 in the first place. We believe the bill should have come to no more than £315.00 – coming to £15.00 per head, a reasonable price for a meal and 2 drinks. Café Bangla do NOT offer an itemized billI so we could not see exactly what they had charged us for and believe that because of this, they knew what they were doing and adding extra drinks on that we never received or consumed. In our opinion working on how many drinks people had and what they were drinking, we feel that the bill for £440.00 was ridiculously overpriced as the food bill itself only came to around £170 – meaning we were charged £270.00 for drinks when a few people only drank small soft drinks. There is not a chance that we each drank nearly £13.00 in drinks each. At one point we were told that for a SMALL diet coke i.e 250ml glass these cost £2.50?! Considering it is out of a big plastic bottle, the whole bottle would have cost you a lot less than this. £2.50 is a disgusting price for something that would cost you no more than £1.00 in any pub or English owned restaurant, where the soft drink will also be out of a pump and still fizzy! The only conclusion that we can come to as to why our bill was so high for drinks is that drinks were duplicated throughout the night. Drinks orders were placed with one person, but another person sent back to re-take the order. This could have easily been wrote down twice for only one drink. A pint of Carlsberg Export was delivered to our table incorrectly as it wasn’t ordered, yet we were still rudely charged for this, despite being told it was on the house due to the mistake. Overall we believe that they have shot themselves in the foot as we were all regular customers of Café Bangla and now will not come back. In the last 3 months we have had 3 large parties at your restaurant, totalling 51 people. We also eat regularly as smaller parties and buy takeaways. Indian food is our favourite cuisine to eat. After speaking to my father who recently ate in Café Bangla in a large group of people, he said that the bill came to £22.50 per person despite it being Banquet Night also of £7.95 per meal and believes that exactly the same happened to them and they were overcharged on drinks.

Date visited: 14.07.2010

Review by Dan White on 14th July, 2010

Add your review
Have been going to this restaurant for many years. Several birthdays with 20+ people and always had a good time. Tonight was different, same staff, same food, different deal. Everyone had the buffet £7.95 deal plus drinks. Same as we had done many times before and had prices ranging from £14.50 to £16.50 pp at the end of the night! We worked the bill out to roughly £17 MAX pp. Actual bill was £20.97 pp!! when questioned they knocked £40 off. which lead us to believe that we were correct and they had messed it up. We asked to see a bill listing all the items they were charging us for and they said we can't do that. This went on and on ... everyone was getting stressed and it ruined the birthday girls night quite frankly. everyone ended up paying over the odds and some paid double. Never again will they have our money. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!

Date visited: 14/07/2010

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Until you understand a writer's ignorance, presume yourself ignorant of his understanding - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages