Maltings

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Maltings Hotel, Salthouse

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by chris on 7th July, 2012

Add your review
Could have been a lovely old hotel, not a very friendly welcome and the room that we stayed in smelled a bit dank and was quite cold. The electrics needed a bit of attention as you could get electric shocks off the light switch. A refurbishment and more friendly staff would make this hotel excellent.Some people found the staff very friendly but we must have caught them on an off time unfortunately, your welcome obviously depended on the mood they were in.

Review by Kevin on 15th October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Location Bad Points: Hotel needs updating

Date visited: 2009-10-15

Review by colin on 6th September, 2009

Add your review
General review: hotel requires upgrade

Date visited: 2009-09-06

Review by Ian on 4th November, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly. Good surroundings General review: We really enjoyed our brief stay and hope to return for a longer time

Date visited: 2008-11-04

Review by A. Rolfe on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
This hotel has friendly staff, but the bedroom we had was dreadul. The bed had no headboard. There were cobwebs everywhere and the carpets and furniture were stained. Downstairs, I think the two house bricks being used as a doorstop in the lounge just about sum up the general air of delapidation. not recommended.

Date visited: September 07

Review by Raymond, Sheffield on 25th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: This is an olde worlde hotel which we like, having stayed here before. In addition, it allows dogs. Staff are all friendly, and the food is superb. It is convenient for many places in Norfo;k, and the beach and coastal path is walking distance. Bad Points: Really, the only criticism is to do with the bedroom. It was rather overcrowded with furniture and could have been much improved with some alteration and a smaller radiator. The lack of a shower wa a minus point, as was the shortage of power sockets. General Review: Value for money, and for a good convenient older type hotel this takes a lot of beating. The bedroom accommodation is a little dated but this does not really detract from the overall comfort. In fact this is the second year running that we have stayed here, so it is obvious we like it enough to return. In particular, the cooking is excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Plenty of car parking, accommodation for dogs, convenient location - what more does one want?

Date visited: 2006-08-25

Review by Adam Douglas on 26th February, 2006

Add your review
A beautiful old building in the middle of nowhere, a million miles away from the hussle and bussle of big town/city life. Those who venture into the breathtaking splendor of rural Norfolk to The Maltings will immediately be greeted on entrance by.....the loveliest dog you could imagine, Barney. Sure, the rooms are a bit dated but that just adds to the appeal. On arrival I felt as if I had gone back in time, to a kinder, more welcoming era.The staff were friendly and polite and the food? Lets just say if you like proper wholesome food, The Maltings is the place for you! Top marks!!!!!

Date visited: 25/02/06-26/02/06

Review by judith hedges on 15th August, 2005

Add your review
An excellent stay in a very friendly hotel, full of character and history, excellent breakfasts and evening meals. so much beter than many impersonal, bland modern hotels it was fascinating to see the many referals to the hotel in the local military museum and local history booklet

Date visited: 11/08/05- 14/08/05

Review by Siobhan on 18th July, 2005

Add your review
Very pretty hotel from the exterior. Food was very good, and the evening menu catered for a very extensive range of tastes, with a fairly varied wine list. However, the bedrooms were outdated, tired looking and not at clean as you would hope! If you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation with decent cuisine to suit most pockets, and are not too bothered about cleanliness then this is perfect for you. If not, forget it!

Date visited: 16/07/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When a stupid man is doing something he is ashamed of, he always declares that it is his duty. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Great Torrington - 1646, Heaviest British Snowfall - 1929, Angel of the North Completed - 1998
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages