Kings

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Kings Arms Inn, Montacute

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by JOHN BIDDLECOMBE on 3rd March, 2013

Add your review
I understand that the Inn is now under new ownership after a period where the business has been left to run down. My wife and i spent a lovely evening at the Inn everyone was friendly and the atmosphere very congenial indeed. We were particularly impressed with the barman who was immacularly well turned out which in our view shows respect for his customers. Well done to you all it will not be long before you are filled to the rafters and having to turn people away. We will be back

Date visited: 02/03/2013

Review by Reg & Jill Jordan on 4th March, 2010

Add your review
We went to Montacute House and afterwards found this delightful Inn. Apparently it has just reopened under new Licensees and we found a warm,comfortable bar with friendly staff.We also dined there and the food was excellent. We will certainly revisit there should we be in the area again. R & J from I.O.W.

Date visited: 2nd March 2010

Review by Andy Newland on 12th July, 2009

Add your review
Have to say that the new team in place are already improving this small hotel after just three weeks, the food was excellent, the rooms comfortable and the staff very friendly. A family feel, and in a beautiful location from which to explore Somerset. Good luck Brian and Shelley

Date visited: 11th July 2009

Review by Flora on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
This country inn was really awful, badly run, ugly rooms and decor and unhelpful and unapologetic staff. It was also very expensive: £85.00 for a poorly furnished, badly worn room for a single person. Not even free shampoo or bath products, no hairdryer and miserable pre packaged current buns for breakfast. The evening food is also really average

Date visited: March 2009

Review by Anonymous on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
Bad Points: Booking did not advise hotel that we had a dog and all rooms available for use with pet were fully booked, fortunely they allowed us to use a room which was not for animal use General review: The staff were very pleasant and accommodating

Date visited: 2008-08-26

Review by Marie Beard on 17th September, 2006

Add your review
The Kings Arms looked a promising place to visit but proved to be very disappointing. Whilst the room was comfortable and recently decorated, the bed wasn't made properly, we had to reset the bottom sheet, the pillows were flat as pancakes and the shower had seen better days. The evening menu seemed ok on the surface, the restaurant was not busy with 5 tables occupied with no bigger party than 3 people. This did not prevent the 3 of the 6 starters being unavailable, 2 only out of the 7 bottles of wine from the wine menu available. The cutlery was tarnished and tasted of metal. The venison over cooked, although the scallop starter was lovely. Breakfast was erratic, not enough cutlery on tables, no serving spoons in grapefruit, we had to ask twice for our toast, twice for coffee. The whole place appears to be run by a completely disorganised couple who sit around while their overworked staff behave like 'headless chickens'. Evidence of there disorganised mess is evident to all who walk in by their office, which is on display from the bar area, a complete mess of papers and equipment which spills into the bar area itself, along with a tin of furniture polish! The furniture is a mismatch of reject 'travel lodge like' furniture, old living room sofas, and traditional pub furniture. Whatever these people did before they took over this lovely old pub, they should go back to it quickly and give some professionals a chance! My advice, dont bother!

Date visited: 15/09/06

Review by Geoffrey, Ongar on 28th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Beautiful setting. Lovely garden with good views. Good food. Bad Points: Bedroom rather dark and small, likewise en-suite. General Review: Unfortunate that the door from our section of the hotel to the main hotel/dining room was locked so we had to walk round outside to enter the dining room for breakfast. Luckily it was not raining! The evening meal was very good, well cooked and presented. Breakfast was disappointing - asked for bacon and tomato only given one rasher of bacon and half a tomato! Would stay there again though as the staff were very friendly and the setting is superb.

Date visited: 2006-08-28

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The delicate balance between modesty and conceit is popularity. - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Shrewsbury - 1403, French Invade Isle of Wight - 1545, First Lordís Test Match - 1884, Lord of the Rings Published - 1954, Man on the Moon - 1969, Tony Blair Elected Labour Leader - 1994
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages