Hendra

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2018: Starry Starry Night, Look You Dark Skies Tourism

What do the Brecon Beacons, NambiRand Reserve in Namibia, Mont Megantic in Quebec, and Aoraki Mackenzie in New Zealand have in common? At first glance ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Hendra Holiday Park, Newquay

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Megan on 20th May, 2011

Add your review
Me and my family of 5 have just arrived back from what has been an amazing holiday! We visited Hendra to get away for a few nights and hopefully have an amazing time, which we did! We ate at the Tavern Bar of an evening, and I must say the food was outstanding! My 3 young children ate it all (and they hardly ever do that) aswell as my self, and husband. The food was cooked to perfection! We went to the inside pool twice and we all had a great time! The children enjoyed everything they had to offer! There was never a dull moment for us, especially in the evening! We went to the club house everynight and were amazed! The crew kept the children entertained brilliantly! The crew offer alot in the evenings, from the children's party dances to the adult bingo! The site is only a ten minute drive from Newquay town center aswell as beaches. If you are looking for a jam packed holiday, then Hendra is the place to go! With lots of activities for children to do all day long, like the Pirates Den! Definately rated a 5 star holiday park! Looking forward to coming back next year!

Date visited: 16th May 2010

Review by jay on 19th January, 2010

Add your review
FANTASTIC! what more can i say..... we came and stayed in summer 2008 and again in 2009 and we are now going to book for summer 2010!! plenty of entertainment for all ages - such a lovely part of the country, me and my children have been out and about every day to different places in the last two years we have stayed there and still have places we want to visit hence our planned return visit in 2010. we met a great family the last time we were there and still in contact with them now - this is such a family-oriantated holiday park........i even remember coming here when i was a kid and now im bringing my children here years later....highly recommended A*****

Date visited: 02.08.09 - 09.08.09

Review by Steve Brook on 28th September, 2009

Add your review
Excellent site. Couldn't fault staff on any front. Good, varied entertainment. My four children, aged 7 to 10 years, have been to several parks across the UK previously but the package provided by Hendra put it head and shoulders above others. Will definitely be returning next year.

Date visited: 19th September 2009

Review by christine thorpe on 23rd August, 2009

Add your review
this park was fab lots to do loads of entertainment for all ages loved newquay as well the beaches where lovely never been to cornwall before i would go back next year to this park the staff are really friendly my kids loved every minute of it carvans were lovely and clean but if you go in budget make sure you take bedding.hoping to book for next year

Date visited: 15/8/09 -22/8/09

Review by joanne plumpton on 19th August, 2009

Add your review
Just returned from Newquay and wishing i were back! We all had a brill time staying at Hendra the facilities are excellent, the showers lovely and hot and spotlessly clean. Kids loved every minute and everyone was really friendly,there is plenty to do on the camp and out and about, we all enjoyed scott mays daredevil show which was a 10 min walk from camp. Also loved the fact that there was a morrisons just down the road very handy for hungry mouths! There is a shop on camp but only really used it for papers. Cant wait to book again will defo be going back, I,ve fell in love with Newquay lovely beaches lovely people everyday was packed with fun and enjoyment a trip to perrranporth is well worth it the waves were awesome and kids all want wet suits when we go back and might even try to fit in one myself! Happy holiday people you'll love it x

Date visited: 14/08/09

Review by Charlotte Auty on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
This was most definitely the best holiday I've ever been on. The pools were amazing, the nightlife was great, breakfasts at the tavern were gorgeous, the pizza bar was slow but the food was good once it came, the supermarket had everything, the caravan was spacious and the shower is better than the one we have at home! The weather was beautiful but even if it wasn't, Hendra would have provided tons to do for all ages, I'm incredibly glad I went and I would go again and again.

Date visited: 01-08-09 until 08-08-09

Review by Angie Linford on 4th August, 2009

Add your review
I have just returned from Newquay after spending the best week ever on your holiday site. There were 13 of us in total age ranging from 1 year old to 62 year old. There was lots of entertainment for all the family, including live wrestling, which my son absolutely loved! I have returned home and highly reccommended your site to several friends some of whom dond drive, but I told them they dont need to as the public transport it fantastic! I will be returning next year as this was one of my best holidays in the UK ! Thanks to all the staff for their friendly approach and entertainment they are all fantastic!

Date visited: 23/07/09

Review by Louise on 22nd April, 2009

Add your review
Second visit to Hendra and had a superb week over Easter with sister and family. Weather fantastic, caravan was excellent with central heating and double glazing a huge bonus, had everything. Can't fault anything on the park, staff really friendly and helpful, facilities we used all excellent and those we did not use looked great. Although park was obviously busy we where suprised how peaceful it was. Family loved it and we definetly recommend Hendra to everyone, great location for visiting everyhting, we went to Eden, Kingsley Village, great local restaurant by the boating lake. On-site shuttle bus into town is great, good local pub too, and whilst the on-site shop is good, Morrisons is only down the road!

Date visited: 10th April 2009

Review by Donna on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
Brilliant place, theres plenty of things to do for all ages! it was my 3rd time this year at stayin at hendra holiday park and i can honestly say that is one of the best parks going. I am 15 years old and if you are of that age then turst me you'll love it. The best bit about the park to me is the night time entertainment is fab and late night discos are the best ;) anyone going there next year from the 15th agust- 1st september thats around my age drop a comment ;);)

Date visited: 16 august

Review by The Gillian Family on 22nd August, 2008

Add your review
Just returned from holiday in Cornwall and because of the awful weather everywhere we wanted to praise a park that made our holiday fabulous despite the rain - Hendra Park, our first visit there and what a great place! Although it rained and rained and rained we had a great time and we're glad we picked a park that had so much to offer and could clearly pull out all the stops when faced with conditions beyond their control! Its a big busy park as you would expect in August, with all the family entertainment and family friendly facilities you would expect too. Loads for kids to do and lots of nighttime entertainment for the adults, they put lots of extra free daytime entertainment because of the rain which was brilliant! Huge indoor pools complex, very busy but you'd expect this in a wet August! Good restaurant and takeaway, we liked the nearby pub and the local supermarket within walking distance. Well done Hendra, we are already planning our return visit - rain or shine!

Date visited: 9th August

Review by N Simon on 18th August, 2008

Add your review
The site was large, really nice and well maintained. The kids loved the indoor pool, and had a couple of hours in there everyday (this isn't free, although it's slightly discounted for site members). The shop was really well stocked, and pretty reasonable. I can't comment on the bars/club as we didn't use them, but they seem really popular, with people queing up from about half six for a table! There is a takeaway onsite, which does hotdogs etc, which was fine, but the fish n chips were expensive and were really lousy! My kids enjoyed the amusement arcade, and there was a small bowling alley too. There is also a small outdoor play area, with climbing equipment etc. There is also a large playing field attached to the site, if the kids fancy a game of footy. Now for the caravan! We hired a Tolcarne 3, which although not top range cost us about 1200 for 9 nights. I have stayed in lots of static caravans, and can honestly say that this was probably the worst. We were unlucky enough to have a fair bit of rain on our holiday. The caravan was very damp. Even with the fire on and the small (not very hot) bedroom heater we could not dry it out, and clothes that were dry when put in the wardrobe in the main bedroom ended up damp. There was a damp smell, and it was near impossible to get coats dry etc. The matresses on all the beds were quite dirty and bobbled, which I felt a bit uneasy about for the kids. Usually when we stay in caravans we are provided with duvets, but each bed had just two woollen blankets. (We hired sheets and pillow cases). On the first night my children were freezing, and we ended up going to buy sleeping bags. So if youre going to Hendra TAKE SLEEPING BAGS WITH YOU. Again it was hard to stop the bedding getting damp. Worryingly, my ten yr old daughter had about four days where she developed a spotty rash first on her face and arms, and then on her legs , which I'm pretty sure were bites....and they seemed to get worse each morning when she got out of bed. In the end I swapped beds with her just incase there was something in there. As soon as we came home they disappeared! Incidentally, check your item list as soon as you get into the caravan. We were missing a kettle, and the glass from the oven door was on the floor awaiting repair, so we had to phone straight down to the office. Although I have had a big moan about the caravan itself, my family still enjoyed their holiday, and there's loads to do around Newquay. If you have young kids take them to Dairyland world.......we paid 32 for five of us, but could go back whenever we wanted for a week...defo had our money's worth! The site is quite far from the beaches - you will need a car to get about, although I believe there is a bus that runs from Hendra into the town/beaches.

Date visited: July 08

Review by Melanie Browne on 22nd July, 2008

Add your review
I am not one to write reviews however I do use them when making a selection and so I felt compelled in this instance to do so regarding my time at Hendre: Unfortunately whilst we found the shower facilities clean and of good size we were disappointed by the level of bureacracy and the lack of customer service. We stayed at the park for four days, my boyfriend and I and two friends and although the park was reletively quiet we were put in a field directly behind the main road into Newquay with constant traffic noise through out the early hours of the morning. This was in itself a pain however what vexed us more was that we asked, if there was space could we have a pitch next to each other - given that the field we were in had only two other tents when we arrived and less than 4 others beside us when we left we were told this was not possible because we hadnt paid an extra charge to be put together. When we enquired what this extra charge was for we were told it was an admin charge? It seemed somewhat ridiculous and unecessary and we spent the full four day break traipsing between tents without a single other tent coming to pitch up near us. What a shame. Obviously its a family oriented park and we appreciate they dont weant groups of kids making noise - but I hardly think we fall into that catagory. I wouldn't recommend this park again, I found it too big for its own good, it lacked character and personality and Newquay itself has gone down hill since I last visited - better head furhter south I think.

Date visited: 17/07/2008

Review by Louise Ford on 23rd May, 2008

Add your review
Brilliant, brilliant park, went with extended family for 10 days and everyone loved it. We picked a top of the range caravan which was outstanding, my sister had one in the budget range and it was hard to tell the difference really, just different in size and content, everywhere so clean and well maintained. Its close to the town and beaches, parking in the town is difficult but there is a regular bus. Good entertainment on the park so everyone found something they liked. We loved the indoor pools complex, its huge and the big slides are great. Lots of choices for food etc on the park, pizzas where brill. Staff really, really helpful and friendly, the kids club staff where amazing, our kids loved them. Lots of places to see nearby we liked Dairyland and the Zoo, also Fistral beach. We have booked again for next year and my sister has booked for July, we'd recommend it to everyone.

Date visited: 3rd May 2008

Review by Rebekah Goldwater on 17th April, 2008

Add your review
Hmm, where do i start? Well i will begin with the good points - Friendly staff Super fun pool for the kids plently to do around the area e.g. - Arcade Henna Tattos mini bowling Pubs + restraunt Evening entertainment close to beach. etc. I was very happy with all of these as the outdoor pool also had free access. a few dissapointments... - Expencive meals Expencive drinks Slightly Untidy area expencive taxi fares poor evening entertainment (depending on who you see perform) Hidden restraunt above the small childrens park which needs more signs to show its actually there! Over all my time here was plesant and i reccomend you visit for ONLY 1 week, make sure you visit the towns also!

Date visited: 27th July 2007

Review by Aimee on 6th May, 2006

Add your review
I think this site is BRILL it is sooooo cool there is loads to do their my point is it is the best site ever

Date visited: 11th Aug 2005

Review by Justin on 15th November, 2005

Add your review
I do not normally sit and waste my time writing reviews of my holidays. However, following my superb week at the Hendra, I find it only natural that I would wish to share my experience with other would be visitors to Cornwall. From the initial contact, through booking to arrival the service was always polite, helpful and with a degree of humour. Having not been on a caravan holiday before I was not certain exactly what to expect so I opted for the premium home. I was fortunate enough to have stayed in one of their Pentire range. The van was cleaned and kitted out to a very high standard. My only gripe would be the lack of coat-hangers; indeed there were none. The ladies and gentleman in reception were a great source of information for where to go and places to see, particularly on the day (or 2) when it rained. I can only say that both my wife and I had a fantastic time and, without a shadow of a doubt, look forward to continuing our liaison with the Hendra. A very big thank you to all the staff there. Justin

Date visited: September 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
History develops, art stands still. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward II killed at Berkeley Castle - 1327, Battle of Prestonpans - 1745, Tolkien Publishes The Hobbit - 1937, First Old Grey Whistle Test - 1971
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages