Ocean

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by warren on 13th August, 2013

Add your review
Today we took the keys of our new to us van, We had visited the site on a few occasions at different time of day to get our views before buying. We found the staff helpful and friendly the free WiFi that is advertised is only in the cafe area, was told cant connect in the caravan, yet i can log on to create account and its says free internet via a voucher yet the reception say no to giving the code out. The Food in the cafe is no more expensive than any pub lunch and i found "the edge" very good, the only down fall is that they didnt have pots to put the used tea bags or the milk pots in, Did find some of the arcade machine "coin toss" were faulty, and there was dogs not on leads, although you cant blame the staff if people decide to break the rules, i cant say the staff dont care because its like sayng the police never nick people its just you dont see it. on the whole so far i have found this to be a good site and would say visit yourself without going though any f the sales staff and see for your self, as after all if you walked into a car sales place the reps there are only going to give you their opinion where you need to make your own up,

Date visited: 12/08/2013

Review by Royston on 5th August, 2013

Add your review
I wish to inform all caravan owners on OCEAN EDGE PARK that a new and draconian rule that vans have to be taken off the site when they are TWENTY YEARS OLD. Please check your 2014 terms and conditions. I believe this rule should be reversed as soon as possible. All owners should call on the site manager and make their feelings known.

Date visited: 15 july2014

Review by malcom powell on 26th July, 2013

Add your review
The biggest mistake of my life was spending my retirement fund on a caravan here , they were fine for the first year then when they know they have you by the short and curlies they wont do a thing for you , the site is like the Jeremy kyle waiting room full of noisy chavs , dogs dropping there calling cards all over the place and running wild , the site manager treats you like a smelly deposit on his shoe , please think twice before buying something on this site

Date visited: 18th july 2013

Review by Pat Haigh on 21st July, 2013

Add your review
The previous reviewer must have been at the wrong park! We have been twice now and love Ocean Edge. The Power Station does NOT spoil views or your enjoyment of the site in any way. When we arrived on 15th July we had to wait until 4pm as the staff were shampooing the carpet from previous occupants otherwise we could have got in sooner. Thanks for doing that it was much appreciated. The caravan was clean and fresh smelling. No complaints at all. The staff are fantastic and my grandchildren loved the Buzz crew. The atmosphere is relaxed and even though we vacated our caravan at 10am yesterday we were still welcome to have a last swim, enjoy the kids club and have a leisurely lunch before setting off on our journey back home. Staff patrol the site throughout the day and are always ready to help. We found this very reassuring. Two men had tried to gatecrash the site and were dealt with immediately. We will be coming back next year and are now considering buying our own caravan. ONE VERY SATISFIED FAMILY.

Date visited: 15-20th July 2013

Review by Jane Slater on 5th June, 2013

Add your review
Don't touch it. It's funny but all the reviews I have seen by caravan owners about this site are dire and they deserve to be. Buy a caravan or go on holiday to this site at your peril. If you are on holiday you have a slightly better chance of being treated a little better than something soft people step in on the street. Staff rude, self righteous and even antagonistic lead primarily by their site Manager. It's like being in a Pow camp. Rules rigid and unrealistic and run like a dictatorship. Do yourself a favour and steer well clear. Give your hard earned money to a business which deserves it.

Date visited: May 2013

Review by ah on 26th October, 2012

Add your review
We bought a van on there, worst mistake I have every made do not wish anyone to have the same experiance we had. Once they had our money treat you like dirt. Any complaints they tell you to get off sight or you know the gate is if you don't like it. If you have a dispute about any work done they have done and will not pay until it has been done properly they will cut your electric off then charge you 65+ pounds to turn it back on even though they have not done the job right. At the end of every year they can throw you off sight without any reason, then try to buy the van back at a cheap price so they can sell it again at a profit. If you take the van with you they will try to charge you money to move it off pitch then they will smash your decking up and say it was pinched even though they have security. The staff do want they can but the manager is ignorant and very nasty has he always says I can do what ever I want when I want. And finally you have to come off sight for six weeks a year but if you work there and live there you can stay on all year round even though it is not registered as a residential sight and the staff do not pay council tax because it is a holiday camp so the company are breaking the terms of their agreement about everyone coming off site. So please be aware of these things before buying.

Date visited: 2007-2012

Review by emily on 8th August, 2012

Add your review
Choose yr site carefully & visit a few. Check out site fees/VAT/wtr rates etc. When u decide on yr pitch try & check out yr nghbrs, do they have a dog that yaps all day, noisey nghbrs all day and then come back late at nite making a racket which cld impinge on the number of visits u make, is it rented out, lve outside lights on. Is the grassed area at the side yrs because several have only enough hard core space for a car. As for the rules & regs 4get it, it shld be scrapped, people do live up there, they do have 1/2 washing machines/pwr jets/hoses/ small boats/wtr skis, everything it says u shldn't have on site. Dogs on a lead that's a joke, dogs wander round free. One person every day lets the dog piddle up the side of the same caravan's skirting. Cats foul gardens. Staff are helpful but can sometimes be off hand. Food is expensive. No follow up care from reps. Bin areas cld be tightened up but then families don't adhere to the rules of binning rubbish. O.E is all right for families but not if u want peace & quiet.

Date visited: May 2011

Review by Pete on 2nd August, 2012

Add your review
Staff in thre cafe need to learn how to wash thier hands after using the toilet! was in their the same time and they didnt wash thier hands, then back behind the counter cooking meals, never eating from their again plus the staff are rude, food is terrible, lack of restaurants, entertainment, very dated place, rough and could do with a makeover, stay away from the cafe.... swimming is pool ok, but the arcade machines are crap, keep swolling up my money and not paying out! not alot for kids to do, states wi fi is availible on site, yes but only in the Chip fat smelly cafe.. Will not be coming back, although the caravan was nice and towels provivded.

Date visited: 29 july 2012

Review by RB on 13th July, 2012

Add your review
Me and my family stayed in my grandads Caravan so we didn't need to go through any agents. The power station didn't bother us. I went to the arcade. Never again. Wasted about £4 and machines that failed to give me the prize I had won. The machines kept swallowing money and the change machine swallowed some money and had to wait until the next day. The cafe was terrible, obvious frozen chips instead of home made ones. Would go again but not to the cafe or arcade

Date visited: 13th July 2012

Review by kit on 19th May, 2012

Add your review
well, the caravan site cant physically move the power station, so un reasonable complaint. there is such a thing as google, google maps, google earth etc..just a thought. i've rented caravans via the southlakeland parks and they have always been spotless, and smoke free. of course other people rent via other "agents" and the site has no control over that so i would always reccommend going via the south lakeland site :-)

Date visited: 19.05.2012

Review by andrew prince on 6th April, 2012

Add your review
me and my wife and daughter went to ocean edge we stayed in a very good caravan very clean theres not a lot to do for the kids but i have to say the food at the resturant was not good my wife got food poisioning and was very ill which spoiled our holiday we think it was the beef burger but not to sure so if u thinking of going to ocean edge dont eat the food in the resturant .

Date visited: 30/3/12 til 2/4/12

Review by S. Crook on 30th May, 2011

Add your review
My wife and me decided to take a four day break at this Leisure Park. We got to the park nearly an hour too early but were given the keys straight away by very friendly staff, a £20 deposit was required to ensure the return of the pass key, which I thought quite reasonable. Our caravan was spotless and clean and the beds were all made up ready with towels also provided.It's true that the camp is overlooked by a power station but in truth it made no difference to us, no noise no smell, just a building.The camp itself was very clean and tidy as were the club, amusement arcade and pool area, it has to be said of course that it was still the school term so no children running around or throwing litter, not that they are all like that! The caravan prices are in my view very cheap compaired to some parts of the country, it's always a bit windy in that part of the world but if you can put up with that then you should enjoy the area. All in all, a very good holiday and yes, we are going back!

Date visited: 23/5/2011

Review by fred hird on 1st October, 2010

Add your review
Having read some of the reviews we arrived with an open mind but were pleasantly surprised.Yes there is a power station next to the site but there are also lovely walks along the harbour,nature reserves some of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen and I didn't even have to go outside to watch it,the caravan was right on the sea front.We did visit the amienities which consisted of a swimming pool which was well heated as was the changing rooms and the poolside and a sauna,poolside staff were friendly and approachable.There were two bars one for sports fans and an entertainment room with party dances and a really funny act. Bingo was played which I dont like but wouldn't complain about or see it as a negative. There was a shop and also a free bus to take you into Morecambe and pick you up again when you've finished your day out.There was a soft play area and a play ground along with lots of fields for football.All in all I would recommend this site.

Date visited: 18th September 2010

Review by mr r johnson. on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
pleaase take note to anyone considering staying at oceanedge caravan park.its a dump.my wife and i arrived at the caravan park with great hope of haveig a nice break not so.we was given our keys and was told we had to pay £20 deposit fof them and a gate pass.on driveing to our caravan we noticed a very large power station overlooking the site we found our caravan only to find old cut down trees weeds all around the caravan the caravan we had was directly over looked by this monster of a power station not mentiond in there broucher or on there web site we did not stay on this so called holiday park told reception about the site and we was leaveing got the impresion of a take it or leave it attitude have rote to head office but no joy there must have been better kept swamps there broucher and web site are totaly missleading

Date visited: 06/09/2010.

Review by Sandra Haley on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
My husband and I booked a 4 night break at Oceaon Edge (through Hoseasons) and, after reading some of the reviews, were somewhat apprehensive as to what we would find. However, I am pleased to say we have had a lovely time. The reception staff greated us warmly on arrival and were very helpful whenever we made enquires. In fact, all the staff throughouth the complex were friendly and curteous at all times. The caravan was spotlessly clean and met the standards we have come to expect having holidayed with Hoseasons on numerous occassions. The facilities on offer adequately met our requirements and as for the power station next to the site, after the initial couple of hours we forget it was even there. Even when we did have to complain to reception about a problem we had with the toilet in the caraven, they sent a member of staff round within 20 minutes and sorted it out straight away. All in all we had a very relaxing enjoyable few days.

Date visited: 17 - 20 September 2010

Review by Guy Gardner on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
After staying at Ocean Edge a few times over the last few years and absolutely loving it, we decided to buy a holiday home there. We've visited our holiday home several times now and it's great knowing we can escape Stoke at a moment's notice and within 2 hours be in our little place by the sea. The park has everything we would look for when staying at a holiday park - a great swimming pool, friendly bars, somewhere to eat, activities for the kids and so much more! The staff at Ocean Edge were very helpful in helping us find the right model and the right pitch at the right price. The location is stunning thanks to the views of the beach and the sea and it's only a short drive from Morecambe and Lancaster so everything we need is on the doorstep. Needless to say, we're going there again this weekend. Best decision we ever made!

Date visited: 15/08/2010

Review by Mrs Mcsorley on 9th August, 2010

Add your review
My, My where does one start regarding Ocean Edge???? Could it be the huge Power Station that decorates the beautiful landscape? Could it be the carpet of cig butts that greated us at the bottom of our caravan stairs? Could it be the smell as you opened the door? Could it be the engrained dirt and stains on the carpet? Could it be the engrained dirt fag burns and stains on the seating areas? Could it be the broken PVC frame around the window that my son nearly torn his hand open with? Could it be the torn netting/missing netting or filthy blinds in the kitchen and washing areas? Could it be the smell in the bedroom like dirty nappies? Could it be the "sorry man only comes in to fix the machines once a day" so sorry kids if you didnt get your shot because its not working and eaten your money and sorry Dad the £10 you put in didn't give you your change wait until the guy comes in tomorrow but by that time you have legged it up the road!!!! I am deeply shocked at this caravan site and it saddens may to say that as at time of booking the booking staff painted a wonderful site having explained we had never been before or had visted the area. The amusments are not owed by the site but by another company who maintain it through a visit every day but in saying that we had an issue and the "guy hasn't been in today" reason was given! On checking out we went to make a formal complaint to be told we should have notified them earlier, we arrived on the Tuesday and were straight up to the reception next morning, nothing was noted and nothing was done!!!!!!!!! so we did tell them straight away but fat lot of good it did us. At checking out we wanted the manager who was not on site at that time so the lady in the shop had to be released by the receptionist to deal with the issue to be told "you will need to contact booking via email or by letter but not to be given either addresses or a phone number to contact. We left at 9.50ish Friday am and I was emailing my compliant as we drove away to another caravan site which we booked that morning for 2 extra nights, Friday/Saturday, to try and salavage something of our holiday for us and our 8 year old. My advice is to seriously think if you want a working/cleaning holiday or a relaxed chilled out one. Take your pick but you gave been advised!!

Date visited: 02/08/2010 - 06/08/2010

Review by kenny on 3rd May, 2010

Add your review
things are on the up ... pitches looking good .. hope thay all get done the 2 lads looking after the djing / entertainment ... were keeping us all bizzy .. great work keep it all going see you soon

Date visited: 03/05/2010

Review by Stuart Burke on 28th April, 2010

Add your review
Ocean Edge was absolutely spot on for my family when we stayed there last weekend. We stayed in one of the caravans on Ocean Drive which had plenty of space for the four of us. It was very clean and had everything we needed from the telly in the lounge area to the utensils in the kitchen. The park is slightly off the beaten track, but it's away from the noise of traffic and if you do want to venture off the park, Morecambe is only a short drive away, we spent Saturday afternoon in Morecambe and the rest of the time at the park as there was loads for the kids to do like the indoor and outdoor playgrounds and the indoor swimming pool. On the Friday night there was a female singer and on the Saturday night there was a duo performing in the main bar which was good, especially as we didn't have to leave the site for our evening's entertainment.

Date visited: 23/04*2010

Review by Paul Harris on 24th March, 2010

Add your review
We were visiting friends near to Ocean Edge and rather than book into a hotel or B&B, we thought we'd try something different. We're glad we did! We stayed in one of the caravans which was comfortable, clean and gave us more room than we'd have got in a B&B. Plus, how many B&Bs have a swimming pool and sauna? There was a bar on site that was great for little night cap before returning to our caravan. Our friends joined us for some Sunday evening drinks and had a great time. The shop in the park had every essential we needed for our stay and was very useful indeed. The park is definitely a family holiday park as there is so much for the kids to get involved with such as the indoor and outdoor play areas. Next time we visit our friends, we'll definitely be booking at Ocean Edge again.

Date visited: 19.03.2010

Review by steve may on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
credit where credit is due johnathon hodson has kept to his word and is really turning ocean edge around.you can see money being spent and put to good use.the coffee morning was superb and the new staff are really friendly.i would certainly recommend this site to anyone wishing to purchase a holiday home in the future .well done johnathon !!

Date visited: 1/3/10

Review by Ben on 28th February, 2010

Add your review
We visited the park just after it opened and were shocked by the changes made. Having been some years ago it was drab and dull but it seems someone has put some serious cash into the place. The facilities are almost unrecognisable and look more like a 5* hotel! Park grounds were still in need of improvement but you can see where they are tidying the pitches up and how much better they look. Will definately consider this as a serious holiday home option park.

Date visited: Feb-2010

Review by Neil on 26th February, 2010

Add your review
Me and my wife took the kids to Ocean Edge for October half-term and had a great time. We stayed in one of the caravans and it was big enough for all four of us, clean and had everything we needed. Our 2 loved Billy the Beaver too! We spent plenty of time in the pool and they loved the playgrounds. We did also spent some of time in Morecambe at the bowling alley and the mega z zone lazer quest. We're looking forward to going again at the easter holidays.

Date visited: October 2009

Review by Amanda on 10th December, 2009

Add your review
My friend and I took our Children for a long weekend at Ocean Edge in October, and we all have a great time. The pool is brilliant and the kids insisted that we begin every day in there. We enjoyed seeing the sites, with a game of bowling and a visit to the Wild Life Oasis. The evening entertainment was fun and again the children loved it. Our caravan was clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The caravan site has a lovely nature walk very close by. The staff were all very nice and friendly towards the kids, they absolutely loved Billy the Beaver. Will be back to visit Billy next year for our Autumn break.

Date visited: 25th October 2009

Review by Matthew on 20th November, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I recently went on a 5 days break at Ocean Edge in Morecambe. We always have a marvellous time and find the staff very helpful and friendly. The beautiful coastal Morecambe bay is within walking distance as is historical Heysham Village. The facilities are great and we loved the heated swimming pool. Our Caravan was clean and tidy when we arrived - we had a fantastic break!

Date visited: 8th November 2009

Review by Denise Leng on 9th November, 2009

Add your review
Just returned from Ocean Edge, I think the reviews are a bit unfair although I had to clean the caravan when we arrived (canvas floor sticky and surfaces and utensils needed a good clean, bedding and towels were ok though). We stayed out of season and seemed to be the only guests there although a drive around the huge site showed that there seemed to be lots of people (probably owners) Inspite of this, all facilities were open, including the family club room with music and disco lights which was great for us as we have 3 year old twins, they had the dance floor to themselves without us having to worry. The soft play area was always open along with the games room and swimming pool. The entertainments manager was there every night, friendly and chatty, although I think he's definitely missing a trick, a little more thought and he could probably have the place busy most nights (owners nights perhaps with bingo or dancing???) All in all, a nice site which i'd definitely return to.

Date visited: 2 November to 6 November 2009

Review by mr steve may on 27th October, 2009

Add your review
I myself have bought a caravan on ocean edge 3 months ago and after reading the reviews on this site thought i would share my expierience with you .the sales staff are ignorant,the only person that is helpful is Jonathon Hudson from what i beleieve Jonathon is new to ocean edge and is really trying to turn this camp around but if your problems get to much like mine did, dont swear (he doesnt like it).i am relly surprised that a camp like this is run so shoddy and can have so much bad reviews.you would expect the staff to be helpful and to make your holiday a really good expierience but this is not the case .lets hope jonathon can achieve his goal !!

Date visited: 27/10/09

Review by christopher.nangle1@ntlworld.com on 20th August, 2009

Add your review
caravan not cleaned very well mouse ran across floor on the sunday morn from behind fridge where we discovered mouldy bread then found under sink where it ran to was filthy complained & came home as reception staff not helpful & when emailed & wrote to complain no one even bothered to reply

Date visited: 20 june 2009

Review by jacqui on 25th July, 2009

Add your review
when i saw the power station on the way in i thought it could pose a problem, turns out least of our problems after staying at ocean edge for a week. caravan not cleaned on arrival, got flea bites from the beds, no iron avalible, no balcony or decking as advertised, kids soft play area filthy need of clean, cafe staff arrogant, amusment arcade taking kids money and not paying out. the machines not working properly and staff say its not there responsibility !!! also used by a seedier type to openly view children in swimming pools through the large glass windows, swimming pool changing rooms and showers in need of a clean, entertainment area overrun by ferile children inside and out, kept up every night with screaming drunk teenagers running round the caravans using obsenities into the small hours, beach was rock with sludge and no direct access to the so called beach, space between caravans very small, staff disinterested and unhelpful. all in all a very disapointing holiday !!!!!!!!! so please do your homework before visiting ocean edge as i wish i had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 18/07/09

Review by Dean Neiland on 27th May, 2009

Add your review
Hi and thank you for the comments. I am Dean in the sales Department and wanted to let you know what Ocean Edge has to offer. Ocean Edge Leisure Park is a scenic coastal retreat close to the historic village of Heysham on the Southern shores of Morecambe Bay set in a clifftop location overlooking the Irish Sea. The park is approximately ten minutes drive from Morecambe with its many attractions. Holidays should be all about having fun and Morecambe boasts a season long programme of festivals, entertainment and things to do for all the family. On park you will always find something to keep you occupied. Our park facilities include a family beer garden, café, indoor heated swimming pool and sauna. Children can play in our fantastic soft play area and they can also meet ‘Billy the Beaver’ our park mascot. Ocean Edge also has its own indoor entertainment complex offering a superb family cabaret lounge, over 18s bar and amusement arcade. Combine all this with the superb seaside location of nearby Morecambe Bay and you have a holiday world away from it all. Morecambe boasts a host of attractions for you to enjoy - Superbowl tenpin bowling, Apollo multi-screen cinema, Gala bingo, Megazone lazer quest, indoor and outdoor markets plus a host of historic castles, museums, parks and much more… If you feel the need to explore you are ideally situated to visit the Yorkshire Dales, Blackpool, Kendal and the Lake District. The holiday homes on sale here vary in size and model to suit your family’s needs and budget. The possibilities are endless and we are sure we can find something to suit everyone! If you would like to make an appoinment for a personal tour of our park and the holiday homes we have to offer then call Dean on: 01524 855657 Thank you. Dean Neiland

Date visited: 01/05/09

Review by JR on 15th April, 2009

Add your review
Have had loads of caravan (static) holidays with various companies and this one was no better or worse than any of the rest really. Had a brilliant time with the kids (10,11 & 12). Pool is amazing and open 8-8 (tho no kids before 8am) it's really warm, clean and as it's open all day there isn't the mad busy rush you get at some sites when it's only open a few hours a day. Night entertainment was a little dodgy but fun and lots of effort put in. As for the Staff onsite... Mark McGarry (manager) and all reception staff were 100% happy to help with any request. I had been told on booking the site had 100% wifi, failed to mention it hadn't been activated yet. One word to the staff and they fixed it within a few hours so I did have access. Very very happy with the service provided, nothing was too much to ask. One of the reception staff was a bit short (evening staff), but not rude and still very helpful. Sure, there is a powerplant that overlooks the far end of the site, but it's far from what some describe and unless you look that direction you don't notice it anyway!! Most the caravans are angled in such a way you don't even know it's there. We certainly didn't hear any humming/ noise as decribed by others. This is no luxury caravan site, but its clean, tidy and friendly and the caravans are beautifully clean and well cared for - little extras other sites don't do too - soap/ toilet rolls/ towels/ beds made etc all done prior to arrival make life that little bit easier too. All in all, if you want a break at a reasonable price and aren't looking for anything too luxurious, this is most definately the place to book - location wise is pretty central for both the lakes and blackpool. We will most definately be back at some point!

Date visited: April 09

Review by Andy on 23rd March, 2009

Add your review
Its not on a clifftop - its on the sea level but when the tide goes out tehre is no sea. There is a massive power station next to it with 24/7 background noise. Facilities are terrible and staff are unhelpful Stay on the M6 and head for the lakes

Date visited: March 2009

Review by jeff on 21st February, 2009

Add your review
awesome place spent every summer here for years as a kid my family owned a caravan here,there is a sizable power station close by this was always the main attraction for me,there was also a disused ici factory just over the fence where some great times were also had,a simple fence jump on the other side of the site and you were in pontins which was out of our price range but free if you were quick and did not visit to often as staff soon recognized you,looking to book a holiday there with my wife and daughter,let the good times roll

Date visited: 70s+80s

Review by Vicky Gregory on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
I I have never been to anywhere quite like it. We arrived at Ocean Edge to stay in our touring caravan for 1 week and were looking for a refund to enable us to change sites on the first day. The touring pitches are too small - everyone is squashed together. There are approx 95 pitches and the toilet / shower block consists of 4 showers and about 6 toilets to cater for all those pitches - thank goodness we have our own wash facilities in our caravan. The block was filthy and we were told it was cleaned twice a day (did not see any evidence of this). I would not take my children in there due to the filth. There was only one toilet and waste water disposal point where both had to be emptied - this was filthy with a dirty nappy bag there for most of our week. This and the fresh water points were elevated from the ground making lifting the barrels hard. People were using the fresh water points to dispose of their waste. There was no mention of the lovely view of the power station - in fact the web site is extremely misleading. The swimming bath changing rooms were filthy with dirty nappies on the floor and strong smell of urine - the two showers were just a drip. When I mentioned this to the reception staff they were disinterested and said "we will get the lifeguard to sort it" - what about cleaners? The "restaurant" was little more than a cafe with the play area water logged and dangerous with parasol bases thrown under the swings. We did not venture into the evening entertainment as would dread to see what we would have found. We went to this site after staying at White Cross Bay in the Lake District which is part of the same group - they are in different leagues. Suffice to say we will not stay again - if we could have moved we would have done but as with all groups you cannot complain there and then to anyone - you have to complain in writing - the staff are completely disinterested.

Date visited: 23rd August 2008

Review by David Ainsworth on 30th August, 2008

Add your review
Just returned from the Ocean Edge camping site. POWER STATION, POWER STATION, POWER STATION. The power station is huge with lots of pylons travelling out from it, they really should tell people before they book. The site was busy with lots of people with dogs (some barking through the night). I would avoid the onsite canteen/restaurant (even with the discount vouchers) it is well worth a walk to the Duke of Rothersby pub at the end of the road the staff were friendly and the food was very nice. I would not return to this site, but it was very cheap and cheap (not cheerful).

Date visited: 28 August 2008

Review by deb on 29th May, 2008

Add your review
Stayed at this site in a touring caravan. The ground is really hard on this site - make sure you take rock pegs to put in. The pitches are quite close together and people were constantly walking across our pitch to get to the toilets. Toilets are not the best but I have seen worse. At least they were cleaned each day. Showers are not very good - depends how many people have used them - the water pressure is very low so sometimes there was only a trickle of water and are cold at times. Had to pay a deposit of £20 on arrival for a toilet pass and gate pass - didn't find this a problem because you get your money back when you return them. It was very windy during our stay and a number of tents were completely ruined. Went into the club once and it was ok - they appear to have dropped the entrance charge because we didn't have to pay to go in. Swimming is extra £2 per adult and £1 per child but the water was cold. The roads to get onto the touring area are very narrow and the reception staff told us which way to go and it would have been impossible to get the car and caravan round the corner - we had to cut across the grass to get in. Staff need some lessons in customer service - not very friendly.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by vivien shaw on 20th April, 2008

Add your review
ocean edge what are you doing.we lived on ocean edge for three years ,it was about2002/3 till 2005it was lovely,the staff were very helpful and mainly good with people.the site was very well looked after then. so come on ocean edge start asking what has gone wrong and get it back to how it was.we are hoping to be back in the uk this year and will be coming to look at your caravans again as we have been living in spain for 2 yrs,and i will definatly be checking the site first befor i spend up to 20-000 so come on get the whip out( mrs v .shaw)

Date visited: 2005

Review by mrs wright on 3rd March, 2008

Add your review
staff are awfull spoke to the kids like they were dirt the staff r right end off kids club not bad but young girl running it and not crb chked and she sat txting through out the 3 hours of club lifeguard screamed at kids for the least little thing she was very rude shop had hardly no goods but lots of out of date stock no baby changing facilities in disabled toilet r a hand dryer and smelly. toliets in family room not got anti slip floor floors were leathal and dangerous restaraut shut from 11am to 5pm so no where for lunch during kids club which was 12.3

Date visited: 20th feb 08

Review by carole williams on 28th October, 2007

Add your review
what can I say ,reception staff to busy to attend to us as we arrived as they were blowing up ballooons for evening entertainment,you have to have a key to get into toilets which were not the best I have been to,you need a twenty pound deposit for the toilet key and a card to get in and out not very good place for tents,very windy and placed to close to edge of the cliff,our tent nearly blew away with us in it. swimming pool ok but very cold,and entertainment poor

Date visited: 26-28th october 2007

Review by Karl (Bolton) on 9th August, 2007

Add your review
The remarks of D Hart sum this "Flee Pit Up" £20.00 Deposit for a toilet key...I wouldnt let the dog sleep in it...Words wouldnt really do justice to the great big looming Power Station NOT MENTIONED ON THE WEB SITE..cant understand why? Avoid at ALL costs

Date visited: August

Review by marion Tenpenny on 17th May, 2007

Add your review
during this visit to ocean edge i am pleased to say there was a lot of inprovement scurity was much better! the site looks cleaner! shame to area down to the beach is still dangarous! staff seam to be more polite and helpfull. the shower block does need some updating but what a great site we always enjoy are stay! well done on improvements made keep the good work up!! its also good we dont had to pay for the electric! it was the only site I have ever been on that we had to pay extra for this service! hope to visit again soon!!!

Date visited: 4/7 may 07

Review by D. Hart on 8th May, 2007

Add your review
Booked & paid for a tent pitch with electric hook-up, pup tent & extra car, received a phone call next day to ask how big was tent, told that the pitch was not big enough for our requirements. We ended up booking 2 pitches together. On booking in at reception was told we had 2 pitches together and also that there was a deposit of £30.00 per pitch for gate pass & toilet block key (not mentioned on booking). Reception staff could do with some 'happy pills'. When we found the pitches they were occupied (obviously double booked), spoke to the warden, Peter, who tried to make out he was doing us a favour by giving us another pitch, which we all had to fit on. Toilet block dated and dirty, showers as mentioned in previous review. Staff unhelpful. We particularly enjoyed the view of the humongus power station that loomed over the scenic view of the site, again not mentioned in any of the information pack. Would not recommend or return!!!

Date visited: 4th-6th May 2007

Review by Norman Fellowes on 28th August, 2006

Add your review
We have just got home from our mini camping break and we are very dissappointed. As we drove up to the campsite it was overshadowed by a large power station not mentioned in any of the literature we received. First of all the pitches they gave us for our tents were full of rocks under the grass making it very difficult to put our tents up. When we checked our map the area we were allocated was not even a proper pitching area it was actually the communal barbeque area. Be prepared to take lots of spending money as even just to walk in the bar after 6pm you have to pay £2 per person. There were 10 of us 6 adults and 4 kids, so it cost us £48 over 3 nights. Our main complaint was the toilet and shower block were very unhygeinic the basin i had to shave into was filthy and there was urine all over the toilet seats and the floor. The showers were not much better there was filth all over the floor from other people which was unable to drain away properley. Apart from 2 hooks on the door there was no were to hang your clothes or toiletries. I asked the janitor for a toilet roll which he gave me and then replied " this is the last f*****g toilet roll im putting in today", I was apalled by his attitude. Then my brother in law complained about the soap dispenser being broken to which he was told " its people like you that make all the mess". We did mention to the reception staff the above points but nobody seemed that bothered. We chose this campsite as we thought it would be good for the kids but on the first night we arrived to get into the club the gangs of kids were arguing with the security men outside! Security men at a hoilday camp! Then we read a sign on the door which said " random bag checks might be carried out". Never have we been to a place like it and we would never go back!

Date visited: 25th-28th August

Review by Angie Linford on 12th June, 2005

Add your review
We came to Ocean Edge for a first family holiday together, we had such a good time that Sammy my daughter wants to come back for her 10th birthday on 9th July to have a beach party with all our family. We had an absolutely fantastic time! The site is very clean and well run well done!!!

Date visited: 01.06.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
So little done, so much to do. - Cecil Rhodes
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles