Crown

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Crown Hotel, Brackley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 25th November, 2008

Add your review
Bad Points: Heating took an age to work after two visits to reception, the shower was also only lukewarm. These things should be checked before the guets arrive

Date visited: 2008-11-25

Review by Anon on 23rd August, 2008

Add your review
Booked on website,credit card details taken, email confirmed booking week in advance. Turned up on time after 5 hour drive after confirming booking that morning. Upon arrival the manager/owner wanted to charge more money for the room than was stated on the website and on the tariff displayed in reception. Upon protest at this decision I was treated very rudely, this included expletive language and the father and the owner/manager ganging up on us and asking us to leave their hotel. Unbelievable !! Stay well away from the Crown in Brackley, go to the premier Inn at the Green Man in Brackley Hatch. In a time of being left without booked accomodation they were brilliant.

Date visited: 20/08/08

Review by Norman on 10th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Good location & surprisingly quiet Room style very good. Good room service when asked Available free parking Nice breakfast Bad Points: The room decor and furniture in particular was rather tired.The following items did not detract from my stay but I felt should not have been noticeable. Broken catch on wardrobe door;TV aerial cable looped loosly across the escape doorway and coiled up behind a chair which looked untidy; mirror on dressing table secured with blue tack and didn't rotate so that it was viewable; fan in bathroom didn't appear to work; broken tile around WC flush handle;I couldn't stand up in the shower without bumping my head on the sloping ceiling and I'm only 5ft8ins!

Date visited: 2008-07-10

Review by Sophie Boot on 11th March, 2008

Add your review
This hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment, which was not clear from the website I booked, and the outside currently has scaffolding. There is not a "proper" hotel car park, and street parking is limited to an hour or 2 hours max. I was told to park at the back in the Co-Op car park, which again has a large sign to say 2 hours max. There is space to park near the back entrance to the hotel, which I ended up parking, and didn't get any parking tickets. Inside the owners have got notices upstairs to apologise for refurbishing. The room itself was adequate for one night, although the window had frosted glass, there was no curtain. The bathroom had a large notice on the door to say that the smoke detector in the bedroom was very sensitive and would activate the fire alarms. The bathroom door must therefore be closed when having a shower, because steam will set this off. However, I was unable to completely close the door when later taking a shower! There was also no hotel guide, to say what time breakfast would be served either, and in on the drawers, I found an empty packet of sweets. The hotel has a restaurant, which I was able to get an evening meal, although this had to go back, when the didn't get the order right. Breakfast appeared cold, despite asking for a cooked one. Overall, it served it's purpose for one night.

Date visited: 8/3/08

Review by p power on 25th September, 2007

Add your review
Bizarre rooms. Light swtiches but no lights, no locks on the bedroom door, bits of random furniture falling apart at the slighest touch. Breakfast is almost funny. Inedible scrambled eggs brought to the table. You ask if it comes with toast and are pointed to a toaster in the corner of the room with a basket of cheap bread next to it. Faulty Towers? Not even close.

Date visited: 17/08/07

Review by elizabeth, st helens on 9th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: things i liked about the hotel was the old world feel, the character of the hotel, you could actualy feel the history of the place, the cleanliess of the beds and rooms, Bad Points: the fact that we were at the very top of the hotel up a steep staircase. General Review: The one thing that i would have liked to have been informed about was the actual position of the bedroom, but the overiding factor of this feed back is to say how very accomodating and helpful the staff are in this hotel. The car that my freind and myself was travelling in developed problems which in it's self caused bigger problems for the jorney home. Big, big thanks to everyone for doing their uptmost best to get the car repaired so we could contiue home safley (which we did), Yes i would recommend the hotel and it's brilliant staff.

Date visited: 2006-08-09

Review by David, Ruislip on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Good location, friendly staff, Good sized room and general amenities Bad Points: Noise from refrigeration unit on lorry belonging to restaurant next door. When I complained to the hotel staff they were initially reluctant to do anything and stated that this was an apparently regular occurance. Eventually they spoke to the restautant and the vehicle was moved after about 2 hours. Some things in the room were not working such as the extractor in the bathroom. Main light switches did not work only the side lamp worked. General Review: Overall fair, hotel has seen better days, cost of rooms does not reflect those conditions.

Date visited: 2006-07-24

Review by HILARY, Hull on 1st June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The staff were very friendly and very helpful, even to the point of making us a packed lunch as we had an early start in the morning, and would not be having the breakfast. Bad Points: nothing to dislike about the crown. General Review: I was a bit unsure about the hotel when i booked as i generally book on recommenation. However, we were going to Silverstone for the weekend and The Crown was in our area. The hotel was lovely and clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. Nicki even arranged a packed lunch for us as we we leaving before breakfast. This was very much appreciated.Our room had an oldie worldie feel about it, the fact that the floors sloped off, but then it is an old coaching inn.

Date visited: 2006-06-01

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We shape our buildings; thereafter they shape us. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages