Cumberland

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cumberland Hotel, Workington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sarah hughes on 2nd April, 2011

Add your review
very short staffed only one woman to make and serve everyone at breakfast time, they also have homeless people staying there paid for by local authority and was horrified to find out a young man died in this hotel and within hours the had rented the same room out to the next customer. not what i was expecting when booking my stay ill never be returning

Date visited: 28th march 2005

Review by janine punchard on 27th March, 2011

Add your review
Me and my partner have just come back from an overnight stay at the Cumberland hotel and from going in to coming home it was a disaster, The waitress's didnt have a clue what was going on and to be honest didn't seem to care. The hotel although clean, it seemed to be stuck well and truly in the 50's and looked more like a retirement home for the elderly. Needless to say I will not be booking into this hotel again in a hurry.

Date visited: 26/03/2011

Review by Irene D on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
After reading Sylvia's comments I just have to add my friend Ivy B and myself had single rooms which was very warm, clean and comfortable, always with hot water. The food and service was excellent, with a varied menu and the owner (Chef) was very welcoming and friendly at all times. The Hotel was decorated to a very high standard and always clean. Entertainment also very good. A thoroughly enjoyable week.

Date visited: 17 -21 July 2009

Review by Graham Larner on 11th April, 2009

Add your review
We have just spent 3 nights at the Cumberland Hotel, Workington. It was the base on a coach tour of the 'Lakes' We have to say what a wonderful time we had on the holiday, the hotel was very clean, room good, food excellent, the staff and management were extremly polite and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and would most certainly revisit and stay again if within the area.

Date visited: 06/04/2009 til 09/4/2009

Review by clarisa on 28th March, 2009

Add your review
I have stayed at this hotel before and whilst i find one of the owners very nice the other leaves a lot to be desired(rude self opinionated etc) The hotel is so short staffed they dont have the time to pay any attention to paying guests ie 1 waitress serving at breakfast although the wait for the food is well worth it when you do actualy get your food it is very nice The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. I was rather concerned about the rather large dog that was wandering about not what you would expect to see in a hotel.

Date visited: 26/03/09

Review by Silvia on 26th March, 2009

Add your review
I found the rooms very drafty, windows rattle, food good but mash potatoe evrynight, meal time always late and the owner was so rude and nasty, just looking forward to be home again and certainly would not like to come back, decor old and damp, freedom of pets around the ground floor, cat and dog ( doberman) certainly not what you would expect to be in a hotel of 3 star, quit worrying it's allowed.Breakfast very poor not what i would thought from the fine town of Workington

Date visited: 23/03/09 - 27/03/09

Review by unknown on 21st November, 2008

Add your review
Possibly the worst value for money establishment I have ever stayed in. 70 for a twin room per night included terrible decor, cracks in the walls, draughty window, outdated bathroom, no breafast (not that I would have wanted to stay any longer than I had to). Staff appeared rushed and not much attention paid at all (apart from when taking your money!) There looked as if there were some happy guests though, the two coaches full of OAPS on a visit!! Would never stay again, not even if you were paying me a joke of 70 a night!!

Date visited: 2007

Review by sean reddy on 18th February, 2008

Add your review
Couldn't get a drink at the bar as the one staff member was trying to run two bars single handedly.Decor was appallingly floral and room was in poor state of repair , mould on bath and cracked and missing tiles.Mealtimes were a joke with being told where to sit , jugs of iced water without glasses and generally being treated as a nuisance rather than a paying guest.I will certainly not be making a return to this establishment.

Date visited: 16/02/2008

Review by Mary on 4th May, 2005

Add your review
Ihave visited this hotel on many occasions and always found it to be perfect. Friendly staff nice food very clean a most enjoyable stay . I will certainly stay there again and i recomend it to anyone.

Date visited: April 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Men think about women. Women think about what men think about them. - Peter Ustinov
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages