It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Boars, Wymondham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs E Barlow on 30th May, 2009

Add your review
We decided to go out for lunch and stumbled accross a beautiful looking pub in a small village called spooner row. first impressions as we walked in were that it was warm, friendly and inviting. The menu is vast and has a great selection of classic dishes and new idea's. we had three courses and unlike other resturants, we didnt need to get chips on the way home to fill us up!! in fact we didnt eat for the rest of the day, the food was out of this world!!! the garden is lovley and well kept, the staff were attentive and they also had a great range of coffee. i recomend this GASTRO PUB to all!!

Date visited: 29/05/09

Review by Jim Smithers on 22nd May, 2008

Add your review
Food can be good, but may not be. It WILL be expensive, however. Wine is usually good but the beer is very restricted and not always kept well. It will also be expensive. Atmosphere is getting a little clique-y, these days, and you need to take your own clique with you. Not recommended.

Date visited: May'08

Review by Peter Clarke on 28th April, 2008

Add your review
A popular village pub and restaurant with very good but expensive food, and portion sizes designed to take you through the whole menu, making it even more expensive! They know their wine (better than their beer) and service is reasonably good but lacks humour. If the restaurant is busy its acoustics can be annoying.

Date visited: 18 Apr

Review by Geoffrey Woollard on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
My wife and only needed a 'pub lunch,' but when we saw the extensive menu we realised that this was no ordinary pub and that we would get no ordinary lunch. The food was out of this world, the service was helpful and friendly, and the 'ambience' was a delight. The regular clientele of this superb establishment are very fortunate folk. We recommend a visit by those who are not. Good eating!

Date visited: 14th February, 2008

Review by MR M WING on 7th March, 2007

Add your review
After our good friends recommended we visit The Three Boars, we decided 'WHY NOT' so we booked a table, which we had to do well in advance, for my wifes birthday.When we arrived we were greeted with a smile which made us instantly feel at home. After a long look at the vast choice of food to choose from, we decided to go straight to our main course to save room for a pudding. I had fillet steak with a red wine sauce and horseradish mash and my wife went for the salmon with champagne, chive and prawn sauce. There is only 1 word we could use to describe the food 'FANTASTIC' We then chose our puddings which were equally as good. All i can say to anyone looking for somewhere to eat is try here, great food, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. 10 out of 10.

Date visited: February 24 2007

Review by Mrs Vanderwall on 1st September, 2006

Add your review
My husband, myself, my son and his girlfriend visited at lunchtime after pre-booking by phone. We were shocked by the cost of the meals so we decided to go for the more reasonably priced meals/snacks. My husband had a burger, my son had a lamb kebab, his girlfriend had fish and chips (can't remember which fish) and I had a prawn sandwich. We ordered a plate of chips as we thought we'd still be hungry after. I expected and hoped my sandwich would be made with fresh bread but it wasn't. I also had a handful of watercress on my plate with some chunks of cucumber. Not much flair in that! My husband was disappointed with his burger and he said we may aswell have gone to MacDonalds! He could have got burger, chips and drink for less. My husband and son were also burdened with the abundant watercress. As a garnish maybe, but not as a side serving! We paid 27 and were all hungry after. There was nothing special about any of it. I certainly could have done better at home. There was no need to book either as there weren't many people there. I paid nearly 6 for a handful of prawns and two slices of stale bread. In these days of plentiful eating places I really think you should look at the quality and quantity of the food you are serving. I always think a good marker is the freshness of the bread and mine wasn't. A few rolls on the table would have been appreciated. We live in Bedfordshire and don't get to see our son very often and this was meant to be a special time for us. Disappointed.

Date visited: 27th August 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Think globally, act locally. - Paul McCartney
More Quotes

On this day:
Cato Street Conspiracy Exposed - 1820
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages