It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sportsman, Amberley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jon Palmer on 27th October, 2009

Add your review
My 3 sons and I stayed at the Sportsman Inn 24-25th October 09 whilst walking on the South Downs. What a super pub it is, made even more so by Rob, Theresa and their staff who could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The 3 beers we tried were all beautifully kept and the food was outstanding (and we thought, very good value). It has three cosy bars, log fires, dart board in the excellent brick floored "public", plus a very nice conservatory overlooking the Amberley Wild Brooks, in which most of the food is served. Our rooms were very comfortable,clean and well equipped. It was a great weekend and we will definitely stay again, hopefully soon.Thoroughly recommended.

Date visited: 24/25 October 2009

Review by rob on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
Had heard that the sportsman had undergone yet another change since chris and jenny had left four or five years ago. Having visited in 2005(and vowing never to return) i thought i would give it another go and was delighted to see that Rob and Teresa, formerly of the Black Horse in Byworth, standing behind the bar with a welcome and a smile. Hophead from the Dark star Brewery in good form and superb food. will be returning often

Date visited: 2nd july 08

Review by Gillian Caine on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
We fell upon this delight of a pub by accident and boy are we glad we did ! There were 7 of us and a dog, 2 people were vegetarians ( one being me , the other my husband). The menu was so fanatstic, there was definately at least 3 choices for everyone in our group, none of us could decide! When the food came it was truly scrumptious, my best meal out in a long time. The pleasure did not stop there, the staff bend over backwards to give you a nice time, drinks are very reasonable and they serve the most heavenly cloudy apple juice. The pun has a lovely, friendly atmosphere and the veiws from the garden and lovely dinning area are amazing. I will be looking forward to my next visit to the sportman as soon as possible and cannot reccomend it enough. Oh and the puddings....mmmmmmmmm!!!!!! Also very dog friendly and lovely locals who are happy to chat !

Date visited: 26th Aug 2007

Review by Miss Jemima Osbahr on 1st May, 2006

Add your review
I am a lifelong vegetarian and don't often think very much of the food I get offered when I go out for a meal. However, some friends wanted to take me out for a birthday treat at The Sportsman. They explained that at the time there had been nothing on the menu suitable for me, but they had had a word and something would be prepared. I was expecting just another "Mediteranian Bake",(a plate of sludgy vegetables), but what a wonderful surprise I got! I think it must have been the best meal I've ever had out. I had homecooked nut roast that melted in the mouth, with vegetarian gravy, perfectly cooked vegetables,(I'd never enjoyed parsnips before), and a choice of new, sauteed potateos, or chips. It's so rare to find somewhere that serves a vegetarian roast. YES, US VEGETARIANS LIKE REAL FOOD TOO. So thank you to all at The Sportsman for a wonderful meal.

Date visited: 26 April 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A wise man should have money in his head, but not in his heart. - Jonathan Swift
More Quotes

On this day:
Thomas Cranmer Burnt at the Stake - 1556
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages