It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old White Hart, Northampton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Ryan on 29th July, 2008

Add your review
The Old White Hart is my local pub and has been since it opened, so I have seen in through the ups and downs (too lazy to walk somewhere else!) Unfortunately due to a wrong choice in manager the standards went downhill, infact they hit rock bottom as per the majority of the reviews on here. I am pleased to say that the pub has now been re-born! We have new maneger in place, 1 in charge of the overall establishment and the other as head chef. The food is now excellent and in the 3-4 months Michael and Dom have been there I have not heard a single complaint about the food, infact only the oposite! I recommend the Old White Hart to everyone again now, the staff are friendly, fun and welcoming. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is the best it has been. If you had a bad experience there, give it another try now, the only thing that is the same as last year is the building and decor!!

Date visited: 29 July 2008

Review by Davis Winston Black on 10th November, 2007

Add your review
Great Location! Great Decor! The food and service here are terrible.

Date visited: 25/10/07

Review by Tim Kent on 19th October, 2007

Add your review
I decided to take my partner out for dinner last evening and decided to try The Old white Hart after being recommended to go by a work colleague. We were very impressed with the layout and the ambience; but that was unfortunately the only part of the experience we enjoyed. The service was what can only be descriped as amateur. Wine was oredered and never appeared; the timings for the two starers were so out of tune it was quite mystifying. We made the decision to leave then as we could not relax or stomach anymore of the worst service we have ever experienced. We have eaten at The Church on two occasions and had a great time; please address this matter as we will certainly not be recommending The Old White Hart to any of our friends in Northampton.

Date visited: 19.10.07

Review by monica neville on 18th May, 2007

Add your review
If a restaurant can cater for 40 people plus a toddler for an important family celebration and leave everybody happy it must be doing a lot of things right. We were at The Old White Hart more because Northampton was a convenient place for us all meet up rather than a burning desire to eat at the place and having read the one review we could find were very apprenhensive. There was no need, we had excellent and unobtrusive service, good food and were under no pressure to leave so people could sit around and chat for as long as they liked.

Date visited: 12 may 2007

Review by Blatch on 12th February, 2007

Add your review
The place itself is very nicely laid out with nice chilled music but the food is overpriced and unorganised. We were in a group of 9 and had to pre order everything we wanted 2 weeks in advance then 2 days before we were due to eat they changed the menu and we all had to re order again. not everyone had a starter (including myself) so when the main courses arrived i was really hungry and was presented with something completely different to what I'd ordered! I asked what it was and was told it was a chicken, courgette and mushroom pasta in tomato sauce and not mackerel and prawns in white wine sauce (luckily I'm not a veggie or I would've been starving!). There was one slice of mushroom, 2 slices or courgette and no garlic bread as stated in the menu. When the waitress explained that they'd sold out of my dish earlier then I was quite miffed as we'd been sat waiting for our food for an hour plus through starter time - they could've asked me what i wanted and it wouldn't have been what i was given. I always try to pick something that i wouldn't normally make myself at home and I wouldn't have picked the substitute given to me, plus I purposefully didn't pick a chicken dish as I'd eaten chicken for the past 2 days! I was offered a change of meal at the time but everyone had got their meal by then so i would've been eating after everyone else had finished - not very good at all, i wasn't happy. As it was someone else's birthday I didn't really want to raise the issue too much because I didn't want to spoil it for the guests of honour. I did however complain the following day and was told that they were having catering problems (not my fault) and no mention of refund mentioned. i thought overall it was bad as we'd been made to pre-order and couldn't even manage to fulfil our requirements - if they knew they needed one of my dish then they should've held it back and not sold the dish earlier in the day. I definitely wouldn't eat there again, esp as I overheard that someone else had complained for Sunday lunch as they were made to wait over an hour for their food and were being given complimentary coffee's. My partner had a different dish and it was relatively bland and portion control was extremely tight. I would also never pay 17 6oz fillet steak with mash only. So basically I'd never eat there again, I'd tell people not to eat there and I intend to write a complaint letter to the management as it clearly wasn't important to the staff.

Date visited: 10/02/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Corruption is nature's way of restoring our faith in democracy. - Peter Ustinov
More Quotes

On this day:
First Manned Balloon Flight - 1783, The Great Storm - 1987, Andy Green breaks sound barrier on land - 1997
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages