It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Dolphin Inn, Kingston

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gill Janzen on 4th July, 2011

Add your review
Very laid back owner and staff,lovely locals, and very pleasant meal. (You can watch the chefs' in the kitchen from your table while you wait.) Nice little garden area. REALLY ENJOYED OUR FIRST VISIT FOR DRINK, SO WENT AGAIN TWICE FOR MEALS.

Date visited: June 2011

Review by John Smith on 11th November, 2010

Add your review
I went here during the summer with my wife and friends and had a thoroughly dissapointing time. The pub is a very picturesque 16th Century establishment and in a lovely setting, but that is where the nice things stop. When you get inside you are met with a 16th century interior complete with gaudy curtains and cushions that wouldn't look out of place in an establishment of disripute. Totally out of keeping with the place. The bar area itself reflects the standard of the beer; dirty, uninviting and hadn't seen a good clean in quite a while. The service was diabolical. Staff were slow, and seemed to want to spend more time chatting with the staff in the kitchen than serving customers. The food, when it eventually did come, was over priced and 'average'. Nearly 7 for a cheese sandwich is a little OTT I feel. Yo cap the whole experience off, the landlady felt it was normal to excuse the staff and sit down and eat her lunch, 1/2 hour before the pub shut. Has anybody been in the situation where you want to disturb someone eating? Well I shall not be disturbing her ever again. If you want to go to a beautiful Westcountry Inn with good service and good food, then give this pace a miss.

Date visited: 3 August 2010

Review by Adrian Fitzpatrick on 12th April, 2010

Add your review
Pleasant pub, lovely setting, good beer, very very non-descript, and overpriced pub food. Whitebait was NOT what it should be, baby sprats or herring, it was in fact baby mullet or bass, realy not good at all. This is becoming more and more standard in this type of pub though. Ordered a crayfish baguette, got a tuna and mayonaisse one. Didn't bother complaining, complaints tend to get a smile and meaningless apology in places like this, but we will not be going again, and won't be recommending the place to anyone either. A real shame, beautiful pub, in an attractive village in a lovely part of Devon.

Date visited: 11/4/10

Review by Mike Copeland on 17th October, 2009

Add your review
We spent 2No weeks in a cottage in Kingston, and The Dolphin was brilliant for real ale, (Sharps Doombar, Otter & Gun Dog, Teignworthy)and the pub grub was superb.We had Sunday Lunch, Steak Night and meals during the week and all were excellent. Landlord Geoff was a star and the locals made us very welcome.I would certainly reccommend this establishment to anyone.

Date visited: 15.10.09

Review by Vic Goodwin on 13th September, 2009

Add your review
Who is John Mills to put down the landlady, Jan and to rebuke Geoff the landlord. When he was purely unsighted, to expect the Ritz, in a country public house, greatly redeemed as one of the best, by television hosts and film stars, sports stars and the like. He must of had his head in the bag of the takeaway, that he bought in a sevice station, two days before his visit to one of englands most tranquel pubs. Keep up the good work Jan and Geoff.

Date visited: sept 2006 - may 2008

Review by John Mills on 6th September, 2008

Add your review
Service was inhospitable and the landlady needs to learn etiquette if nothing else and not treat customers badly. Food and drink should be better for this type of pub. Will not recoommend this pub to anyone. Very disappointing.

Date visited: September 2008

Review by James Sawyer on 10th September, 2007

Add your review
Had lunch on this date which was very Good. The Otter Ale was excellent. We were there earlier in the week for an evening meal, which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Landlord's a gem. Locals are very friendly. Idyllic Country Pub Beautifully presented. Well worth the drive through the lanes. Will definitely be going back next year

Date visited: 7th September 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
You will find that the woman who is really kind to dogs is always one who has failed to inspire sympathy in men - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
First English Colonists in North America - 1584, American colonies declare independence - 1776, 1st regular bus service - 1829, Alice in Wonderland Published - 1865, George Michael Crashes into Snappy Snaps - 2010
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages