It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Crown and Sceptre, Newton St Cyres

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by c.smith on 25th March, 2012

Add your review
stopped here for sunday lunch, not very impressed with the meal,quite expensive (9.50 single course)and frankly not very good,could have had a much better sunday lunch in most coutry pubs for a lot less money.I understand that the old tenant has left and a temp manager is in charge,lets hope that the brewery soon find a new tenant worthy of what used to be a good pub/restuarant.

Date visited: 25th march 2012

Review by Tont Totterell on 17th April, 2011

Add your review
Bar staff are so lovely. Girls are tidy the teenage boy is especially nice. Big muscles. Food was good! Overall nice place, nice pint, nice view!

Date visited: 11/4/2011

Review by ALBERT THOMPSON on 10th April, 2008

Add your review
This was my first visit to the lovely village of Newton St Cyres, and to the Crown And Sceptre. I cannot praise it enough, visually, it is your typical English village pub, both on the outside, and the interior ( fantastic log fire in main bar ). The food was first class, with an excellent choice of local ales - try Otter Ale. The landlord, Richard, was extremely friendly, and hospitable, and the pub is also child friendly, as my two year old daughter, was made more than welcome. We will be travelling across from Northern Ireland again, this summer, to Devon, and will be going back to the Crown And Sceptre, for another delicious pub lunch ( and pint or two of Otter Ale ), and to see a bit more of Newton St Cyres. Definately the Best Of British, when it comes to pub grub, and friendly landlord, and locals. AL

Date visited: 23 and 24 MAR 2008

Review by Ray on 16th January, 2008

Add your review
Just about the best pub food we've had for a long time. Nice pint as well

Date visited: Dec 2007

Review by Nigel Brett on 28th September, 2007

Add your review
I have eaten at the Crown & Sceptre on a number of occasions with both my wife and friends, and have no reservations at all in recommending it as a particularly good place to eat. The set menu is good value and provides a number of options suitable for all palates. The "specials" board always contains a wide variety of alternatives, usually seasonally dependant and always popular! The restaurant atmosphere is cosy and warm and the service is excellent. I have never provided a review for a restaurant before, but felt that The Crown & Sceptre certainly deserves one.

Date visited: Various

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I would much prefer to be a judge than a coal miner because of the absence of falling coal - Peter Cook
More Quotes

On this day:
Churchill Fails in Oldham By-Election - 1899, Beatles release 'All You Need is Love' - 1967, Four terrorists explode bombs on London Transport system - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages