It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Tom Cobley Tavern, Spreyton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Peter and Linda Millett on 23rd October, 2011

Add your review
We went to this pub at lunch time and as soon as we walked through the door you could feel the lively atmosphere. The place was full of people but the landlord noticed us and we were met with a warm welcome. The food and choice of real-ales was excellent at a reasonable price.

Date visited: 22.10.2011

Review by the williams famiy on 7th August, 2010

Add your review
Great pub great food great hosts and the ladies toilets fantastic oh and the beer great

Date visited: aug 2010

Review by Robin Nicholas on 24th July, 2010

Add your review
Fantastic country pub over 22 real ales very friendly staff (especially the landlord what a character who knows how to run a great pub)Excellent pub food but the Sunday lunch was in my opinion the best I have ever had (in a pub! Just in case my wife or mum see this)! 5 +stars we will be back a thousand thanks to Roger and his staff.

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Ian & Loveday Lamb on 24th November, 2008

Add your review
Great pub in the lovely Devon countryside. Exellent service, food and choice of drinks. Friendly and efficient staff and warm welcome too. Lovely atmosphere with mixture of locals and visitors. A real pleasure & highly recommended.

Date visited: Sat 22 Nov 2008

Review by John Myer on 30th November, 2006

Add your review
Review on; The Tom Cobley Tavern at Spreyton by John & Sue Myer It was on the 28th of November 06 and Sue and I were staying at the Travel Lodge a few miles away, then while we were driving around looking for somewhere to eat, we came across your Inn, from the time we entered the bar we got a really friendly welcome from the bar staff and a very friendly Landlord even some of the locals said, “good evening” We stayed and had a drink and a very nice meal, the perfect end to the day. Maybe next time we will stay at the pub. Sue said, “she will bring you some welsh cakes on the next visit” and I’m sure there will be one soon! A most hospitable and enjoyable time thanks, John & Sue.

Date visited: 28.11.06

Review by Chris Green on 3rd September, 2006

Add your review
My son and I broke down on the way back from Newquay to Yorkshire-close to Launceston. We were towed off the motorway and Stayed over night at the Tom Cobley while our car was being mended at the local garage. The hospitality was exceptional, the landlord very jovial and kind (I had no money on me whatsoever!)The accomadation and food was brilliant. When your far from home this is what you need and these days its not always what you get. Deeply endebted- very thankful to the people of Spreyton and especially Tom Cobbly- See you soon!!! Mr C.Green and son.

Date visited: May 2006

Review by Jan Wills on 12th June, 2006

Add your review
we called at your Inn on Saturday, and had a lovely time, it was a really friendly welcome from the Landlord. After nearly 2 hours we didn't want to leave but we had to move on, but we will definetly be back, Thank you for a a most enjoyable time Thanks Jan

Date visited: 10/06/06

Review by carol van dyken on 15th November, 2005

Add your review
A wonderfully charming Pub in a rural village. Excellent selection of Ales and good home cooked food. Popular with the locals, a great place to soak up the local scene.

Date visited: September 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A cricketer's life is a life of splendid freedom, healthy effort, endless variety, and delightful good fellowship - W G Grace
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry II - 1189, Thomas More is executed - 1535, Battle of Sedgemoor - 1685, First Car Ride in Britain - 1895, Brooklands Racing Circuit Opens - 1907, Lennon and McCartney First Meet - 1957, Piper Alpha Disaster - 1988
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages