It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Butchers Arms, Sheepscombe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Robyn Nicholls on 31st December, 2009

Add your review
Having moved over from South Africa to the UK, I have so far been amazed at how friendly people in the UK are. The Butchers Arms is the first pub that I have felt uncomfortable in. An extremely arrogant and unfriendly landlord. We felt like he was doing us a favour by serving us a drink. We'd had a lovely day of exploring the Cotswalds and were very tired which was the only reason we didn't move on to the next pub for food. Food was mediocre. Certainly no reason for arrogance!

Date visited: 30/12/2009

Review by Dave Johnson on 1st August, 2008

Add your review
It may be an OK pub for food but do not bother to visit for a drink only. You are treated as second class citizens. Whist waiting at the bar my wife was ignored twice whilst diners jumped in front of her to pay their bills. When I came to the bar and remarked how rude that was, the young barman angrily retorted "It is not rude, we are short staffed [?!] and don't come back here". His wish will be granted.

Date visited: 31/07/2008

Review by Felicity on 25th June, 2007

Add your review
A smashing pub with great landlords i was personally taken back by Mark and Sharon's hospitality towards us as customers but also for them to give up their table to some of the locals who had more people in their group whislt they were tyring to enjoy there meal! Our meals were beautiful and the atmosphere was lovely, We ended up staying there for almost 3 hours! certianly recommend to everyone.

Date visited: 23.06.07

Review by Solomon on 4th August, 2005

Add your review
I think the food in the Butchers Arms in Sheepscombe is, comparatively, a lot better than it was. I have the impression that it this improvement has to do with new people in the Kitchen. I am particular about the Butchers Arms because I go there regularly when i spend my holiday at Sheepscombe recently. I did enjoy the friendly environment Thanks

Date visited: 13 june to 4 july, 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Education is simply the soul of a society as it passes from one generation to another - GK Chesterton
More Quotes

On this day:
Start of the Great Smog - 1952, Opening of UK's 1st Motorway - 1958, The Civil Partnership Act comes into force in Britain - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages