Swan

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Swan Inn, Lympstone

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by A.stabler on 22nd October, 2013

Add your review
Third visit for Sunday lunch, and with each visit the service has declined to the point of being treated like we were interfering the social life of the serving staff who were both incomitent and rude. My recommendation would be to eat at the Globe Inn or the Redwing, where the food is good and you are served without a side order of distain.

Date visited: 20 October 2013

Review by Mrs Randall on 28th July, 2011

Add your review
My Husband, myself and my two girls had a lovely meal at the swan inn on Tuesday. The food was so good. The staff really looked after us all and catered to my children's needs (as you know they can be a little demanding at times). We will go back there again because I must say not all local restaurants are as friendly when you have children, The swan staff were excellent. Thank you!

Date visited: July 19 2011

Review by Sally Newell on 5th April, 2011

Add your review
A group of friends and I visited this pub yesterday to celebrate mothers day with our babies. Despite being welcomed into the pub and given our own area to dine in, the landlady waited until we had finished our lunches to rudely tell us not to come back before her locals 'did not like our children'. Our babies are only 8 months old and really did not impose on the other diners. The landlady was very rude and this pub should not claim to be family friendly in any way. Our day was ruined.

Date visited: 4.04.11

Review by Sarah collier on 24th March, 2011

Add your review
This is one of the nicest pub/restaurants I have visited. The staff were very friendly indeed and the food is wonderful, I could have not asked for more. I spent a good few hours every night I went there, I would eat and then go and sit at the bar and talk to the staff. They made me feel very welcome and the locals did too. I was visiting from California and I must say I will go back to the Swan Inn next time I am in England.

Date visited: December 2010

Review by jan kenshole on 4th February, 2011

Add your review
we were made very welcome and the crab baget i had was the best i have ever tasted and my husbands fish and chips were fantastic you could not ask for better

Date visited: 03/01/2011

Review by Patrick on 13th December, 2010

Add your review
This is my favourite pub. Always has a lovely atmosphere and the staff and regulars are very friendly. We were a party of seven and everyone enjoyed an excellent meal. Lympstone village is beautiful and the Swan is the icing on the cake.

Date visited: 08/12/10

Review by s cropp on 22nd August, 2010

Add your review
visited during the evening, steaks tuff as shoe leather desert not set properly informed staff who said they would speak to chef etc but then later denied we had even spoken to her, all in all very poor experience and wont be going there again

Date visited: 210810

Review by Marg Wallis on 9th August, 2010

Add your review
Lovely walk from Exmouth to Exton. Lunch in the Swan. What more could anyone want! We will cycle next week. The new path from Lympstone to Exton was opened a couple of months ago so we can walk or cycle further now. Looking forward to the path opening right through to Exeter.

Date visited: 8th August 2010

Review by c.wells on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
AS ALWAYS A SUPERB LUNCH TIME MEAL WITH A REASONBLE QUALITY GLASS(ES)OF WINE. HOMELY SETTING AND NOT RUSHED. PARKED THE CAR AT EXMOUTH AND WALKED DOWN THE ESTUARY/CYCLE PATH TO LYMPSTONE (1.5 MILES)HAD OUR MEAL AND WANDERED BACK AFTER AN ENJOYABLE MEAL AT A REALISTIC PRICE FOR QUALITY.YOU WOULD HAVE TO TRAVEL FAR AND WIDE TO FIND A BETTER PLACE!

Date visited: 21 SEPT. 2009

Review by Amy Matthews on 12th August, 2009

Add your review
Had lunch at The Swan Inn yesterday and thought the food and service was great. Booking again for my birthdy. The weather was warm so we sat outside.Looking forward to eating in the restaurant tomorrow night.

Date visited: 11.08.09

Review by ann main on 21st July, 2009

Add your review
on holiday from France and found new owners of this Pub who were friendly and attentive to our needs ,had a super lunch and came back for a drink in the evening ,and they remembered us!! would certainly recommend this pub to our friends

Date visited: 24.6.09

Review by peter metcalf on 30th January, 2009

Add your review
Rude staff - the pub was not busy, which might have otherwise explained the attitude of the bar staff but as it was we decided not to stay for a meal and left after a single drink. A shame as we have visited Lympstone many times before and always found this pub welcoming.

Date visited: 30 January 2009

Review by peta mavers on 23rd November, 2008

Add your review
We visited this afternoon and after walking along the cycle path in the wind and rain we arrived damp and bedragled, however it was certainly worth the effort as we quickly warmed up by the gorgeous log fire. We had a lovely sunday lunch followed by the most delicious homemade pudding I think I have ever eaten! The staff were lovely and we were all loathed to leave. We will deffinately be back soon.

Date visited: 23/11/08

Review by Ben Williams on 19th November, 2008

Add your review
We had a very pleasant walk along the cycle path from Exmouth to Lympstone and found The Swan Inn at the centre of the village. This pub is truely delightful, the staff were very friendly, the food was delicious and my wife was more than impressed with the childrens menu, I had a throughly enjoyable pint of Otter Ale, and was then persuaded by one of the locals to try a pint of the guest ale, Timothy Taylors, which was equally as enjoyable especially at 2.25 a pint! We will deffinately be back.

Date visited: 17th November 2008

Review by Mark Thompson on 11th November, 2006

Add your review
This pub has had new management from early 2006.The Sunday lunch is now excellent value and great quality. A very enjoyable experience.I would book as now very busy.

Date visited: 5/11/2006

Review by Angela Drummond on 23rd May, 2006

Add your review
Re. Review of the Swan Inn at Lympstone by James Smith on 18th July 2005. Whilst I am sure that he had a grievance at the time, this review is unfair to the new management chef and staff that has taken over the Swan Inn since January 2006 and have endeavoured to make the Swan Inn a pleasant and popular village pub serving food of a high standard especially local fish. I have eaten there myself and found the food and service to be of a high standard.

Review by Stella Munn on 26th June, 2005

Add your review
I live in Devon and this is my family's favourite place to eat. It's friendly, clean, welcoming and the food is absolutely delicious. Giovanni the chef is happy to help with any special requests - my mother is in her 90s and he, and all the staff, make sure she is especially well looked after. She says going there is like going to a friend's house for a meal. What more can you say............

Date visited: Very often

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
My goal is simple. It is a complete understanding of the universe, why it is as it is and why it exists at all. - Stephen Hawking
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Marston Moor - 1644, Battle of Alford - 1645
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages