It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Smisby Arms, Ashby-de-la-Zouch

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Cainy on 16th February, 2010

Add your review
Arrival 2pm - Meeting friends for a drink. Before even ordering drinks we were immediately told meals had stopped being served, obviously presuming we wanted to eat. According to a board outside and when we asked, the pub was to close at 4pm. But as all of the diners had left by 3.15 we were told it was closing at 3.30pm. As some lights were being turned off and a staff member sat eating crisps nearby it was clear that we were not welcome for much longer. If we had eaten and the pub still busy I am sure the opening times would not have changed. If you just want a drink and friendly welcome try the nearby Tap House Annwell Lane Smisby.

Date visited: 14th February 2010

Review by Ronny on 22nd October, 2009

Add your review
What an absolute fab place, food & staff, great choice on the Menu with excellent prices. The homemade chips are just EXCELLENT. I had the Cajun chicken with chips that was cooked to perfection and the staff just couldn't be more welcoming. Am planning my next trip there already.

Date visited: 16th Oct 2009

Review by Ged on 16th July, 2009

Add your review
Oh dear,we must have gone to another Smisby arms.The one we went to banned me for having the audacity to complain about the size of the portion of baked haddock one of our friends was served !If you decide to go don't argue with the management as they are ALWAYS right,and take more money with you as the prices keep rising. A bottle of house wine is £14,and don't forget this is just a village pub.

Date visited: 25-06-09

Review by Ged on 13th July, 2009

Add your review
Oh dear ! what did I do wrong? I've just read the other revues and think I must have gone to another place. Most of the food we had was fine but one dish,baked haddock, wasn't much bigger than a fish finger.When I brought this to the attention of the staff I was told I had been rude and, although the price of the dish was removed from the bill, I was told I was not to go back as I was banned !! Conclusion-If you aren't happy don't complain, because the management are always right.!!

Date visited: June 2009

Review by Jean Haines on 25th April, 2009

Add your review
We had planned a trip to the Bluebell Nursery and Arboretum so we chose the Smisby Arms for lunch, having done a little research on the web beforehand. We were not disappointed. Very nice old fashioned pub with a specials board and a good menu at very reasonable prices. A good choice of main meals which started at an unbelievable £5.95. My friend and I started with home-made paté and our husbands had the special scallops with garlic butter. All delicious. The boys then had the battered fish and my friend had the fillet of beef stroganoff from the specials board and I had good old meat and potato pie. The portions were huge and the chips were homemade; we really couldn't fault it. We would recommend both the pub and the nearby nursery unreservedly.

Date visited: 25 April 2009

Review by Jack on 24th March, 2009

Add your review
Absoloutley gorgeous food. Freindly atmosphere.reasonably priced food. Well worth the visit.Looking forward to going again!

Date visited: 28.5.09

Review by sandra jones on 4th June, 2008

Add your review
The food was out of this world omg

Date visited: 2.6.08

Review by Bess on 17th February, 2008

Add your review
Small friendly village pub, despite its small stature the pub has an extensive menu of freshly cooked food from both the specials board and the main menu. We chose the Stilton stack and a special of Hoi Sin Beef both of which were absolutely gorgeous and beter than you would expect for a local village hostelry. You sometimes need to be a bit patient with the young but enthusiastic staff, who do mean well. The wine list seems small but reasonably priced. The beer good and there is usually at least one well kept guest ale. By the end of the night there was a friendly mix of locals and diners at the bar, we look forward to returning.

Date visited: 3/2/08

Review by Mark Jones on 1st November, 2007

Add your review
Food is superb and so is the service, Chef came to the table to see if everything was ok. Good red wine and atmosphere superb. Would highly recommend. We have booked a table to go again.

Date visited: 26/10/2007

Review by Kim on 21st February, 2007

Add your review
Well I can honestly say this quaint village pub exceeds any expectation I had when invited to dine there. The chef and proprieter, recently from the Mailbox in Birmingham, provided a meal of such high standard, (no pre-packed, vacuum sealed instant rubbish), all freshly prepared and cooked to order, I thought I taken a wrong turn as was at the Mailbo. I then expected a high price tag, but was plesantly suprised (astonished even) to find that the food was priced no higher than the your run-of-the-mill "wacky warehouse" type venue. Ten out of ten and thats doing him a disservice. Not forgetting the efficient waitress and barstaff, it was a thoroughly relaxing and very enjoyable evening. I wil most definately dine there again and suggest the same to anyone.

Date visited: 16 Feb 2007

Review by Anne Roberts on 14th November, 2006

Add your review
My hubby & I were out for a drive and came across the Smisby Arms purely by chance. What a lucky find! We stopped for a 3-course Sunday lunch which was REALLY reasonably priced and ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS. Home cooked, traditional food. OUTSTANDING!!! WELL WORTH A VISIT!!!!!

Date visited: 12th November 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Be content to remember that those who can make omelettes properly can do nothing else - Hilaire Belloc
More Quotes

On this day:
Stirling Castle Falls to Edward I - 1304, Euston opens as 1st London Station - 1837, FA Cup is formed - 1871, Botham’s Greatest Ashes Day - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages