Crown

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Crown Hotel, Stoke-on-Trent

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by christine heasman on 27th October, 2010

Add your review
stayed at this so called hotel while we were visiting my daughter for 4 days she booked for us. well what a let down ..... we were booked in for b&b and was charged for the breakfast which was a complete let down. The night porter/cook wore a suit that needed a dam good clean .The full english breakfast was swimming in grease yuk. Room was nice bit dated & very cold. Curtains & windows hadnt seen a wash since window cleaners went out of fashion. Staff were pleasant enough unless you needed another couple of tea bags !!!! Then they said 2 per room per day . Our bathroom must have been the best one ,very clean & maid came in every day to make the bed. wouldnt go to this place every again.

Date visited: 21/10/10 to 25/10/10

Review by Tracey Todd on 4th May, 2010

Add your review
Hotel staff were very friendly. Rooms were disgusting. Arrived after a great day at alton towers to enter very run down town and hotel was no better. Light switch in our room was hanging from the wall with wiring hanging out. Heating didn't work. Bathroom was not cleaned from previous guest, toilet had marks inside and seat was disgusting. Glasses still had lip marks around the rim, clearly not washed. Bed had springs poking out all over. Felt very unsafe and intimidated in their bar as locals kept staring at us and making comments. Had to be transferred to another hotel (The Plough which was excellent and only 10 mins away), which was the best move

Date visited: 1st May 2010

Review by MATTHEW KNIGHT, NEATH on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
HOTEL IS VERY DATED AND NEEDS QUITE A LOT OF WORK TO GET IT UP TO STANDARD. ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND BATHROOM WAS VERY TINY. SHOWERS WAS COLD AND TOILET WAS DIRTY ON ARRIVAL(HAD NOT BEEN FLUSHED ROM LAST GUEST). BREAKFAST WAS VERY POOR FOOD WAS NOT COOKED PROPERLY AND HAD TO KEEP ASKING FOR MORE TEA AND COFFEE AS WE WERE A GROUP OF SIX AND ONLY FETCHED OUT ENOUGH FOR FOUR PEOPLE. WOULD AVOID HOTEL AT ALL COSTS IF I WERE YOU.

Date visited: 19/09/2009

Review by Kevin Calvert on 5th July, 2009

Add your review
The room was a good size with clean bedding. The receptionist was very courteous and helpful. They had stopped serving food before our arrival but she directed us to local places so we could get a meal. Breakfast was good and the price we were charged was excellent definitely good value for money.

Date visited: 04/07/09

Review by nancy on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
Longton as a town was very, gruby, intimidating and almost unsafe to walk round as me and my partner were stared at a lot by locals and strangely every single pub stopped serving food at 4!!! all there was to eat was take out (which we got from the chinese up the road named paper tiger and it was horrible!!!) We went down to breakfast in the morning and we got stared at all morning by the locals i felt like i was doing something wrong i nearly cried again, the breakfast was a tub of random cereal, rock hard croisants and mouldy apples so we went on very hungry!! the guy in the breakfast hall was serving everyone else (which im guessing they were locals)but me and my partner were completely ignored even when my partner went up to the counter and said excuse me! the waiter just walked round him!! i was shocked. to sum it up, i had a rubbish sleep, rubbish service, rubbish car park, rubbish town, rubbish food, rubbish room, this hotel killed me emotionally and phisically for about 3 days afterwards!!

Date visited: 28/03/1988

Review by angela on 19th March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: good point is a easy to find from motorway.and friendliness of the staff. Bad Points: on this visit was woken at 6.45 by scafold being taken down.was not happy about that. General review: we enjoyed our stay and will be booking again.when we come to visit our friend.

Date visited: 2009-03-19

Review by Maggie Taylor on 31st October, 2008

Add your review
Arrived late in the evening (children enjoying Alton Towers too much). Friendly welcome , although the receptionist was outside having a sneaky fag ! (she did apologise when we checked in). Didn't have the twin room plus double we requested but gave us a double and two singles for the same price. Both my children were thrilled with their own rooms. Room was a ittle dated but comfortable. Lovely and warm after a very cold day at Alton Towers. Room and bathroom were clean. Fantastic value for what we wanted. The plumbing left a lot to be desired and kept me awake most of the night but then it is a very old building. Breakfast was OK (nothing to write home about) and the chap in the dining room tried to be very accomodating (espeically after we learnt that it was his first day on the job). All in all no compliants. Great value for money although I suspect a lot further than the 15 minutes it was suppose to be away from Alton Towers.

Date visited: 29 October 2008

Review by jakestar on 14th July, 2008

Add your review
Can't recommend this hotel at all. Poor and unclean. 5 of our party had to go to another hotel as the rooms were just unacceptable. Bedding was dirty, lights didn't work properly and even the bar of soap in the room was dirty! Should be avoided if possible.

Date visited: 13 July 2008

Review by Neil on 7th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: It's a hotel Bad Points: Unclean room, Poor showers, Bad service, Dated decor etc etc

Date visited: 2008-07-07

Review by R. Evans on 6th November, 2007

Add your review
Customer service was non-existent, The bar was intimidating, with locals fighting and swearing. Not my idea of a relaxing weekend.

Date visited: 2nd - 4th Nov 2007

Review by william on 29th October, 2007

Add your review
For 39 for 2 beds inc breakfast it cant be beat!! The rooms have had a major update, new carpets everywhere etc and the breakfast was excellent. Pity the rest of longton isnt!! The area surrounding the hotel looks like Beirut in the 70"s (I think the railway line looks quaint and full marks to the web designer for so skillfully "airbrushing" it out of the photo). The only decent pub is the Congress nearby,all the rest are closed or "junkie" heaven!

Date visited: 26/10/2007

Review by Jacqui Keeler on 5th August, 2007

Add your review
Upon arrival I nearly cried. The hotel was dirty and had a rail way line running outside the windows. I was worried about my car all night as the location is not the best. The room was even worse, there was a poor lock and we put furiniture behind the door as we felt so unsafe. The toilet was dirty and the bath had hair in it. The window was broken and would not close which meant we had a freezing night. The hotle looks nothing like the picture online and I would never set foot in it again. It doesn't deserve the 2 stars that the AA sign shows at its door.

Date visited: 03.08.07

Review by Darren on 30th April, 2007

Add your review
Very disappointing. The rooms were very dirty, Stains in the toilet and grotty seat. Hairs(yes hairs) in the bath tub, dirty floors and generally untidy room that was in need of major decoration. Stayed with a wedding party and another members room had a window that would not open and a broken TV. The breakfast was served between 8-10am, When we went down at 8.45 they had run out of the full english even though only a couple of the party had had one! The staff who were serving offered no explanation and did not seem at all bothered. Would not recommend this place to anyone and would certainly not go back.

Date visited: 28th April 2007

Review by Anonymous on 15th August, 2006

Add your review
Bad Points: It was as if i was staying in a house that was stuck in the 1990's. Creaky floorboards and lack of customer service was notably annoying. General Review: My stay was more like being at somebodies house (that i didn't know) rather than at a hotel. There was nothing special. I was a bit disappointed by the proximity of the large road outside of the hotel. I also think that the hotel needs updating so that it is more like a hotel, not a free house. Sorry.

Date visited: 2006-08-15

Review by Anonymous on 27th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Good staff very pleasant Bad Points: Room needed repaint Black hand marks on walls otherwise the room was clean, lock faulty. Smoking allowed in the breakfast area. food left out to help yourself but noticed other guest handling cold meat and bread then replacing it. every thing else was in good order

Date visited: 2006-06-27

Review by Joanna, Edinburgh on 7th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: good location, with friendly and helpful staff Bad Points: rooms very basic, and could do with some updating. some of the rooms untidy and unclean. General Review: The hotel was in a very good location ideal for a short taxi ride into Hanley where there is a good choice of restaurants and bars. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, however the rooms were not the cleanest and could do with a bit of updating. The stay was pleasant thanks to the hotel staff but probably would not return.

Date visited: 2006-06-07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Everything government touches turns to crap. - Ringo Starr
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages