North

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of North Stafford Hotel, Stoke-on-Trent

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by christine henderson on 28th December, 2010

Add your review
Had a great time with our coach party. IS IT HAUNTED ? we had a funny experience !

Date visited: 25th dec 10

Review by Anonymous on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: close to station,breakfast buffet good Bad Points: crowded with a wedding going on, restaurant close in evening had to eat in bar General review: good

Date visited: 2009-10-20

Review by john on 9th March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Nice building Bad Points: Loud throbbing music untill after midnight (wedding). breakfast was a disaster, ran out of everything, only replenished one thing at a time, had to queue waiting for items to be replenished, even coffee.

Date visited: 2009-03-09

Review by Debbie Wythe on 27th July, 2008

Add your review
We love this hotel and have stayed many times. It is a very old, Jacobean Hotel, full of atmosphere and character, so it won't look or feel the same as your bland, modern accommodation. So what if it needs a lick of paint! It is extremely convenient situated opposite the railway station and central to all of Stoke's attractions. Alton Towers is nearby and tickets can be purchased (I believe)at a special rate. I have always found the staff friendly, helpful and pleasant and the actual accommodation clean and comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic, and, if you choose to have your 3 course evening meal there, you have a choice of 4 different menus and for only 9.95 a head! No scrimping on servings too! I have also stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Express with no complaints either - but it has no soul and you have to go to the Harvester on site if you want to eat an evening meal. For REAL value for money in great surroundings, my choice will always be the North Stafford!

Date visited: 21/07/08

Review by Anonymous on 11th March, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Bathroom facilities were good, also Tea Coffee facilities in the room Bad Points: Bedspread and blanket was shabby General review: Overall experience of staying in the hotel was fair. Certain aspects in the room could have been improved, e.g. presentation.

Date visited: 2008-03-11

Review by Roland Harper on 11th November, 2007

Add your review
No part of this hotel I've seen matches the pictures in the brochures or websites. On arrival we were informed that the room had been upgraded to family room as no doubles were availble due to overbooking. Great we thought. What we got - 5 bed room with stained bed sheets, a three legged desk, broken furniture, no TV reception, moldy bathroom, generally dirty and very dated. This place is awful, a disgusting excuse for a hotel. Had to check out the same night with a full refund and go to the Holiday Inn (3 miles away) it was great- clean modern room, air conditioning and nice surrounding. Dont stay here ever, book a travelinn, holiday Inn etc or if all else fails stay in the car. This place would be great I suppose if you were homeless.

Date visited: 10/11/07

Review by Patricia, Greenock on 18th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially the young lady at reception. Bad Points: Nothing, accommodation was excellent and great value for money. General Review: Would highly recommend to anyone.

Date visited: 2006-08-18

Review by Nina Mccomiskey on 19th July, 2006

Add your review
We had a brilliant time all the staff were lovely and i would def go again

Date visited: 14.07.06

Review by ROSEMARY M, STAFFORD on 16th March, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: I think the rooms were very tired looking and needed a paint and good clean Bad Points: Our food was cold and we paid 14.99 and was told the bain marie was playing up . we were then asked if we would like the meal warmed up in a microwave. We said no for heath reasons and did not fancy a bout of food poisoning. General Review: We paid 100 a night for my room and think it was way to much for the quality. I have stayed at the Reubens in london for that amount and it was imaculate every time. It was a shame as this was a birthday weekend away for my husband and we felt let down.We were planning on eating in the hotel for the stay but after the first meal we were put of and went into town. We also felt that for the price of our room, we should not have been next to a group of students (whom we suspect were not paying anything like the amount we paid) who ran riot at one- o- clock in the morning and smashed the glass in the fire door.

Date visited: 2006-03-16

Review by Charles, Knaresborough on 15th March, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Reasonable size room, but bathroom access was somewhat narrow due to how the door was fitted. Bad Points: There was insufficient staff to attend to the breakfast buffet. ie. Side plates ran out without being noticed by the single waitress on duty. The presentation of the jam (one flavor only) and marmalade was extremely messy, being in a large pot into which one had to dip an equally messy spoon. The provision of tea in flasks rather than freshly made is really below par for a hotel in England. The Clayhanger Bar was cold and impersonal when open, and was closed when I tried to get drink at 11pm on a Saturday evening. Likewise, on arrival at 1.30pm, it was not possible to get a sandwich as the kitchens were closed. Thank goodness there was a buffet open on the adjacent railway station. General Review: For what I paid on the net, the overall value was fair for what is an ex-railway hotel now sadly past it's prime. If I had paid the published rack rate, I would have felt complelty cheated.

Date visited: 2006-03-15

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The job of the artist is always to deepen the mystery. - Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages