George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of George Borrow Hotel, Ponterwyd

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sheila Pearcey on 19th April, 2011

Add your review
This is our second visit here on birdwatching holidays and the staff are very welcoming and try to make sure everybody has all they need. Whilst there are comments about small rooms this is necessary in an old building to accommodate en suite facilities. The area is such that nobody should be spending any time in their rooms anyway. Good location for viewing red kites, they have even nested outside in the surrounding trees. Keep us the good work

Date visited: 15/4/11

Review by Anonymous on 18th February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Location and friendliness was good. Bad Points: Room was fair - bed very uncomfortable and lack of plugs for kettle/hairdryer. Not too much of a problemm though. General review: A very pleasant stay.

Date visited: 2009-02-18

Review by Anonymous on 23rd January, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The rubber ducks in the bathroom and the nice magazines, and the fruit for breakfast, and the view of the river. Bad Points: The hotel is ALWAYS TOO HOT (like nearly all hotels). Why can't they just turn the thermostat down? It would save them money and make it much nicer place to be.

Date visited: 2008-01-23

Review by Jean, Lancaster on 1st June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Very friendly, I like the historic pub atmosphere and the food was excellent. General Review: The third time we have stayed at the George Burrow, and we have enjoyed every stay. Excellent food made with good quality local produce, and an interseting menu.

Date visited: 2006-06-01

Review by David, St. Sampson on 5th May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: This is an excellent small family-run establishment. The family/staff were most welcoming, and they put themselves out to ensure that we were well looked after. We had to leave early on departure day, and every effort was made to provide an excellent packed breakfast for our journey. The standard of food was very high [breakfast (full and continental), a la carte dinner, and bar meal] Bad Points: The bathrooms were a shade small in both rooms - but this was more than compensated by the cleanliness, and very nice bedrooms General Review: We enjoyed an excellent three night stay at the hotel, and very much hope to return. The family and staff were welcoming and helpful; the rooms were clean; the views from the hotel breathtaking (we really must return when the weather is warmer so that we can enjoy aperatifs in the garden); and the cuisine (much of it mediterranean in style) saw each day start and end on the highest possible note.

Date visited: 2006-05-05

Review by Glyn, Brierley Hill on 3rd May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: room and view Bad Points: Welcome not very warm once we'd made it clear we weren't booking for dinner. No offer of help with carrying bags up stairs, I have arthritis and it's a problem for me. My partner specifically asked for no beans on breakfast, this request was disregarded and when I called back the proprietress to draw this to her attention she continued walking away General Review: See above. If we'd been asked on checking out if everything was all right we would have mentioned this to the proprietress But we weren't. So we will vote with our feet.

Date visited: 2006-05-03

Review by Anonymous on 7th June, 2005

Add your review
Quiet Quaint Nice style furnished- Good food Flushing of toilets- Lower accomodation for mature people The real distance from hotel to the coastal areas 25-30 mins it took to aberystwyth as an example

Date visited: 2005-06-07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment. - Hilaire Belloc
More Quotes

On this day:
Storming of the Bastille - 1789, 1st demonstration of Dynamite - 1867, First National Grid Pylon Erected - 1928, Abortion Bill Passed - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages