Restaurant

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms, Nottingham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by steph lumley on 28th May, 2008

Add your review
Not a bad store. Lots to look at. However the cafe left alot to be desired!! Ignorant staff. dirty tables, infact dirty everything!! Cold tea etc. I asked a member of staff if they could wash our table down and they flicked their eyes upwards. It was that dirty and horrible i could not even drink my tea!!! Staff on the till of the garden centre were very nice!!

Date visited: 27/05/08

Review by Fiona MacDonald on 13th November, 2007

Add your review
This is the most pretentious restaurant I have come across in years and I didn't think places like this still existed. Other than the 65 tasting menu, there is a choice of only 2 dishes per course. The set price is 47 for 3 courses, what if you only want 2, or god forbid, just 1 course? None of the dishes were vegetarian, the restaurant manager looked horrified when I told her that I didn't even eat fish, and was advised that vegetarianism is a special dietary requirement and I should have given them prior notice (am I in a 1970s timewarp?). I was told the chef would "put something together for me", I was not told what, a choice would have been nice, and in fact ended up with a softboiled egg which I don't like (and why do I need to know the temperature at which it was boiled??). The ingredient combinations were bizarre and didn't work (Gordon Ramsay would have a field day). The chocolate dessert included that horrible space dust stuff found in children's sweets that does weird things on your tongue. None of us liked any of our food (my two companions were meat eaters). Everything seemed to be served on slabs of slate. The cheapest bottle of wine on the winelist is 29 (it wasn't even very good). The waiters describe the dish you've ordered as they put the plate down in front of you (in case you've forgotten what you ordered??). The bill was extortionate. Don't go!!!

Date visited: 22nd June 2007

Review by Jules on 13th May, 2007

Add your review
This hotel is superb. The room we stayed was really lovely. Very tastefully decorated. We booked a table in the restaurant. It did not get off to a great start because when my partner looked at the menu he said there was nothing on there he could eat. I was a little taken aback as I had looked on the internet at the menu and I couldn't wait to sample the fayre. Personally, I wanted to go for the Taster Menu. I have say the staff are wonderful and the service is second to none. My partner called the hostess over, who I assume to have been Audrey, and told her of his problem. She was extremely accommodating and printed off a vegatarian menu and we got there eventually. We ended up having to choose from the three course meal and there was a particular dish on the Taster Menu I had really been looking forward to. I asked if I could have the "Foie Gras" as a starter and of course I expected it to cost a bit more but it was well worth it. The food is superb! We were also treated to a few complimentary samplers which is a very nice touch indeed. Simply cannot fault the service at all because although the staff were young they were very good at their job, friendly and they smiled!!!! The restaurant also has a very nice ambience. A little jazz music in the background and not too loud but it was by no means stuffy as there was the pleasant hum of people in conversation. Guess that about says it all!

Date visited: 10 May 2007

Review by D Jaeger on 16th November, 2005

Add your review
I stayed two nights at Sat Bains Hotel and Restaurant. The food was utterly glorious and I recommended it to friends in London who drove up in August just to dine there. The two dinners I had there were the best Western-style meals I ate in 2005. The rooms are simple, pleasant, small and for what they are, a tad pricey. Excellent wine list.

Date visited: May 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A healthy attitude is contagious but don't wait to catch it from others. Be a carrier - Sir Tom Stoppard
More Quotes

On this day:
Marlborough wins Battle of Blenheim - 1704, Last Executions in Britain - 1964
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages