Heathfield

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Heathfield Inn, Honiton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Staff were very welcoming and we were impressed with the size of the room we had. We enjoyed the country feel of the pub and found the overall cleanliness to a high standard. Bad Points: It was quite strange driving to the hotel as its situated in the middle of a small housing estate but when in the hotel area you don't notice the fact. General review: We enjoyed our stay and would say it is ideal for sort weekend getaways.

Date visited: 2008-09-02

Review by Tim Hughes on 20th June, 2008

Add your review
We stayed here for an overnight stop on our way to Cornwall and were fortunate enough to have room 5 with the four poster bed. The room was delightful and the meals were very adequate, especially the evening bar snack option which gave good value for people not wanting a massive full blown dinner. My only complaint was that although the TV had a freeview box this didn't seem to work and we could only could receive four basic channels. Albeit a trifle expensive I do not hesitate to recommend it highly to others.

Date visited: June 12th 2008

Review by Anonymous on 13th November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Nice room, good food. Bad Points: Shower wasn't very easy to turn on/off.

Date visited: 2007-11-13

Review by Nigel Noyle on 15th January, 2007

Add your review
Interesting other reviews, particulary the negative ones, which indicate they hit off days that are not indicative of the place or the service. I have stayed in every room in this Inn and the beds are all extremely comfortable with the exception of Room 3 which is on the firm side. I have never found the accommodation to be unclean, though it is a bit tired. Room 7 is an excellent family room with a large double bed, two single beds and a cot. In additon it has its own sofas so it is decent family suite. Room 5 is the most luxurious with a very comfortable 4 poster bed sofa and armchair. All the other rooms are a reasonable to large size. The food in the pub is fair to good, with an interesting menu. The steaks are always good. The scallops and Piella dishes vary depending on the availability, but can be rated from good to excellent, and Pork in Calvados is the best I have eaten anywhere. Service I have found to be always excellent, and the proprietor Carlos very pleasant. The location of the property is odd as the country side idealic setting that obviously existed at one time has been replaced by housing development, but the old world charm lacking of the surroundings is still present inside, and its location oddly enough helps ensure a quiet night's sleep.

Date visited: Weekly from Aug to Dec 2006

Review by Rachel Black on 15th October, 2006

Add your review
I really didn't like this place. Wildly over priced for what it was. Itís more the quality of a youth hostel than a cosy country inn. Its location is terrible too. It looks from the photo as if itís in a quiet country location but its in middle of a council estate. It was grubby too - I didn't feel comfortable touching the carpet or sheets at all.

Date visited: September 06

Review by Unhappy Customer on 2nd October, 2006

Add your review
Bloody awful. Couldn't agree more with the last review. We actually never got to the place because the owner actually swore down the phone at my partner due to a cock up with their booking system. Give this place a wide birth

Date visited: 25th September

Review by Mr Shaw on 22nd September, 2006

Add your review
What an unpleasant experience. My wife and I booked 2 nights but left after one due to the un-cleanliness of the run down establishment, but more so due to the total rudeness displayed by the couple who ran it. I will add, that even though we cancelled the second night due to the unpleasant stay, we were charged for both nights. Appalling.

Date visited: Autumn 06

Review by Cathy, Uxbridge on 12th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Spacious room. Bad Points: Sink tap dripped and shower difficult to operate.

Date visited: 2006-08-12

Anonymous Review on 14th July, 2006

Add your review
Bed hard if anything, but good value and good cooking.

Date visited: 12/07/06

Review by Anonymous on 19th October, 2005

Add your review
.clean, Tidy Comfortable and warm none that come to mind, possibly for sandwiches to be available at the bar i have no complaints whatsoever, the staff were polite and helpfull and the room was well kept and clean, i found the accomodation and hospitality to be excellent

Date visited: 2005-10-19

Review by Anonymous on 9th September, 2005

Add your review
Bed was too soft and we both ended up in the middle.

Date visited: 2005-09-09

Review by Anonymous on 8th September, 2005

Add your review
The breakfast is good and the building is beautiful Beautiful building and a great place to stay with lovely rooms and friendly staff. Guests should be aware before booking, however that this hotel is slap bang in the middle of a housing estate. This is not a problem in terms of noise, but the proximity of the other houses to the dining room window is a little disconcertin

Date visited: 2005-09-08

Review by Anonymous on 9th August, 2005

Add your review
Friendly atmospher, both staff and locals

Date visited: 2005-08-09

Review by Mark on 8th June, 2005

Add your review
the staff were very helpful in organising a taxi to the wedding and returning well after midnight from the reception was no problem. to be honest it was just a bed for the night but all was in good order and the cooked breakfast hit the spot in the morning. unexpected strange location - set amongst houses that i guess was all fields until a few years ago.

Date visited: 2005-06-08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I believe the first test of a truly great man is in his humility. - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
First Ascot Race - 1711
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages