Browns

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Browns Hotel, Tavistock

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 6th November, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Excellent food and attentive staff Bad Points: Room overlooked road with noise from traffic and passers by also hotel sign outside the window was banging in the wind. Restricted parking facilities on site. Would ask for an inside room next time. General review: Room slightly cramped and noisy but overall a very pleasant experience thanks to the staff and food.

Date visited: 2009-11-06

Review by Anonymous on 3rd May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: great breakfast, comfortable bed General review: very good

Date visited: 2009-05-03

Review by Helen Warner on 31st October, 2008

Add your review
We visited Browns for one night to see the area. We were very impressed with the service of both staff and management. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast there and were more than happy with the value and content of the menu. We would definitely recommend it to friends.

Date visited: 11.10.08

Review by Maxine Ashman on 31st October, 2008

Add your review
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in a double room at the front of the Hotel. The room was very well equipped, beautiful fresh flowers, good bathroom and very clean and airy. Although our room was over the high street however due to the triple glazing any noise was minimal and with such comfy beds we had a good nights sleep both evenings. The Bar area in the hotel was very welcoming and cosy but also modern. In the day it was a great place to relax and in the evenings it became more alive with an excellent buzz and atmosphere. The daytime brassiere and evening menu's were superb with something to suit all tastes and as the brassiere menu ran until 9.30pm it gave you the option of a lighter snack if you didn't want a more formal meal. The breakfast menu is also exquiste and we loved the fact that our room number was clearly visible as we entered the conservatory so we knew where to sit. The selection of continential was sufficent but the cooked menu was fabulous - we would recommend the Smoked Salmon with scrambled eggs -actually we would recommend everything on all menu's as we have never tasted such great food in a Hotel before - our compliments to the chef who does an outstanding job on every meal we tasted. Every member of staff we met were polite, helpful, informative and nothing was ever too much trouble - again a credit to the hotel. We would definiately recommend this hotel to friends and family - actually we already have.

Date visited: 17th October 2008

Review by nic mcc on 31st October, 2008

Add your review
I count myself lucky to have found such a super place to stay! On visiting Browns, it will quickly become apparent that the owner has put serious thought into making the experience everything that a guest could want. The decor is stylish yet not pretentious. The rooms all share the same colour scheme but all with lovely individually restored features. There is crisp white bed linen, molton brown toiletries, log fire and beams in the bar. The staff are brilliant: a small team who are always enthusiastic, thoughtful and keen to help (without ever being intrusive). The restaurant is one for foodies! The chef is young and inspired (having won south-west young chef of the year... probably among other accolades). The menu changes regularly and the ingredients are locally sourced, perfectly cooked and presented. The only problem is a lack of time to try every dish! An absolutely super place!

Date visited: Various during 2008

Review by Robert Taylor on 4th July, 2008

Add your review
The food is very good, but our room was tiny - only just big enough to squeeze in a double bed and nowhere to put suitcases without having to climb over them

Date visited: June 2008

Review by Marguerite Goodchild on 6th June, 2005

Add your review
Quite the highlight of our six weeks trip - we stopped in Tavistock by chance and saw "some good-looking suitcases checking out". "Yes," said Lindsay the friendly receptionist, "We can accommodate you tonight but I need half an hour to let you view the room. Perhaps you'd like to have a coffee in the bar?" Barely half an hour was up before she came to get us. Yes the room was fine and we could check in now, mid-morning. She showed us the Roman spring in the conservatory and we relished the complimentary bottle of the spring water in our room. She suggested we eat at the brasserie "because we have Master Chefs and the food is good". We booked for dinner at 7 pm and went out to explore Tavistock - what a delightful town. On return I decided to have a shower but with memories of my sister's "plastered in Paris" experience when she fell in a hotel bath I decided to ask for a shower mat. The acrting receptionist said she'd need to ask the manager and suggested we have a drink in the bar while he found the mat. (The fragrantlocal beer reminded me of helping my late father make home brew than fifty years ago). Dinnertime came and we found attentive wait staff and quite the most delicious and memorable meal. The fish was divine. We were thrilled with our last night's stay in the UK and give the highest recommendation to Tavistock's Brown's Hotal.

Date visited: 22 May 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I hate the idea of causes, and if I had to choose between betraying my country and betraying my friend, I hope I should have the guts to betray my country - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Macbeth Killed at Lumphanan - 1057, Battle of Kilsyth - 1645, Last Execution in The Tower - 1941, Lynmouth Floods Kill 34 - 1952, Beatles Create Stadium Rock at Shea Stadium - 1965, Woodstock Begins - 1969, Inaugural Premier League Games - 1992
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages