It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Lizard Lane Caravan & Camping Site, South Shields

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Kevin on 21st June, 2010

Add your review
The toilet/shower block was very good - otherwise, the question is bomb-site or builders' site? The site was grossly overbooked, with only about six feet between units at weekends; due to ongoing building work, we were ordered to change pitches, three different pitches by the end. On day of arrival, the "warden" (self-stated not actually employed by site owners, but pleasant and helpful)was threatening to send any more arrivals to park in the grounds of Littlehaven Hotel, who own the site and are responsible for bookings. The (available) ground is pitted and scarred by plant machinery; despite rules banning open fires, builders daily disposed of rubbish on open fires within feet of units. Despite prices advertised on line of 13-16 per night, we were charged 21 - and this for much lower quality than advertised. This work (changing completely to a static van site?) was well in progress last September (our last visit) and I expected that it would be ended by now - however, no warning was given when booking. I would advise everybody to visit the site before booking if possible, to avoid the terrible holiday that we have endured.

Date visited: 5-19 June 2010

Review by Mrs Jackie Darnell on 11th June, 2010

Add your review
About to book again...cant understand comment about warden.. from previous commentee. He was lovely and couldnt have been more helpful we were novices at caravaning, he helped us set up and find things we didn't have with us and gave us loads of useful hints and information and told us to just knock on his door if we needed any help at all WE'RE DEFINATELY GOING BACK THERE. Lots to do everything you need to hand. see you soon

Date visited: August 2009

Review by darren on 25th April, 2010

Add your review
arrived ,no warden,set tent up to pay later,warden come and told us to get off,waste of time,avoid!!

Date visited: 24/4/10

Review by Pet on 23rd June, 2008

Add your review
Toilets and showers old but clean with very hot water. One sink for washing up. Site on a slight slope with very well tended grass. Big downside is that the site is very exposed. There is nothing to stop the winds coming in off the sea or from any other direction which really made it unsuitable for our large family tent

Date visited: 20th-22nd June

Review by mrobinson on 26th May, 2008

Add your review
site & toilet/showers very clean,site on a bit of a slope but not 2 bad,quite a windy site most of the time.nice views of the sea ,lots to do in the area.wardens on site and security at night both very helpful & friendly,there is a pub 5 mins away good food

Date visited: 24/25 may 08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Duncan Killed by Macbeth - 1040, Worst English Defeat in Ireland - 1598, First international Beauty Contest - 1908, British Troops sent to Northern Ireland - 1969
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages