The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Bull at Great Totham, Maldon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Janet Morley on 13th November, 2010

Add your review
A group of us had a meal at the Bull in the bar, not the Willow Room, last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was excellent and the food first class, especially for the price. The decor is beautiful and I can definitely recommend it, well worth a visit.

Date visited: 12/11/10

Review by jayne on 24th October, 2010

Add your review
myself,husband and daughter have just had sunday lunch at the bull.we had 2 courses could not manage a dersert {and we have big appetites} the food,service, decor and prices are spot on!! I read the review from madeleine brooks 19/10/2010 all i can say is she must have a very very big appetite and we certainly were not forced to have a dersert we did not want!!

Date visited: 24/10/2010

Review by madeleine Brooks on 19th October, 2010

Add your review
we have been eating in the bull for years and always enjoyed excellant food at reasonable prices but last night sadly the food was over priced and anthing but 'hearty and robust' as described in their leaflet. i was forced to have an expensive pudding as well just feel like i had eaten anything. very dissappointing and the prices are ridiculous. sadly i don't the bull will survive in todays market where people expect value for money.

Date visited: 18th oct 2010

Review by Les Jones on 25th September, 2010

Add your review
Booked sunday lunch for 4 people in the pub,excellent food and good value sat outside afterwards looking over the cricket green drinking the afternoon away.

Date visited: 12 sep 10

Review by david barnes on 5th September, 2010

Add your review
Very good menu ,salt marsh lamb very good,but the service was a bit slow and the food could have arrived a bit hotter. At these prices EVERYTHING should be spot on. It was'nt. Perhaps just teething problems,but these prices in deepest Essex ?????

Date visited: 4th Sept 2010

Review by glenda lawrence on 1st September, 2010

Add your review
We booked The Willow Room for a family birthday celebration for 15 people - however were a little disappointed to find ourselves seated either side of the walkway between the bar and the restaurant. Having said that, the staff were very efficient and the food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented with all 15 of us served together within an acceptable timescale. With the price working out at £30 per head (some only two courses)and without wine, it seemed a little expensive given that there were none of the little refinements usually found at other restaurants e.g. no table cloths, no bread brought round (although you could purchase a portion of bread for around £2.90, but that was two slices of very dull bread) and no mints or petit fours with the coffee to finish - we would not pay that amount again to be seated where we were, but I reiterate that the food was excellent.

Date visited: Monday 30th August 2010

Review by Ellie Hunter on 16th August, 2010

Add your review
On the off chance myself and two girl friends decided we would go and have sunday lunch at the Bull as we had not been there for some years. We had heard that someone new had taken it over can I just say what a vast improvement the new owner has made the decor was amazing decorated with a lot of thought, the food was as good if not better than in some very well known resturants I and my freinds have eaten in London and the staff were excellent. I and my friends highly recommend it, and I would suggest that you book as already it is very popular.

Date visited: Sunday 15th August

Review by Jean Floyd on 23rd June, 2009

Add your review
I arranged to have my brother 70th Birthday celebration meal at the Bull on Saturday 12th June plus my two nieces stayed with their families in the letting rooms overnight. We had a lovely evening the staff were warm and friendly, The Girls said the rooms were clean and very comfortable. On the Sunday before we left we had the breakfast which was served well, and as the meal on Saturday of a good standard. Jean Floyd of Great Totham.

Date visited: 12/06/2009

Review by John Clifford on 27th August, 2007

Add your review
As well as my wife and I having had a number of meals at The Bull on various occasions, this establishment also catered for a group function I was at in January of this year; we have always found the service to be rapid and the food of the very highest quality. I am currently organising a further meal there for another group and I have absolutely no fears that the service and quality will be anything less than first class. Highly recommended!

Date visited: January 2007

Review by Graham Batt on 10th May, 2007

Add your review
The Bull Inn serves some of the best food in Essex. I tried and tested many pubs in Essex when buying our most recent house and The Bull was one of the main reasons for moving into the area. Contrary to other reviews, I have never had a bad experience here having experinced their wonderful steak, gammon, vegetarian, fish (to name but a few) examples. The prices are extremely fair for the quality and the staff have bent over backwards to provide a polite, honest and high quality service. It's a shame others have not had similar experiences.

Date visited: various

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
'May my last breath be drawn from a pipe and exhaled in a pun' - Charles Lamb
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward IV deposes Henry VI - 1461, RNLI founded - 1824, Forth Bridge opens - 1890, Lennonís Bigger than Jesus Quip - 1966, Kray Twins found guilty of murder - 1969, Real IRA bombs BBC TV Centre - 2001
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages