Pelham

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Pelham House, Lewes

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mair on 30th August, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Lovely hotel, our room in the converted coach-house was excellent, modern, well appointed, comfortable. The hotel location in the centre of the town was very convenient, breakfasts were superb, the 'full English' a real challenge, and the evening meals a delight. Great place to stay for a romantic week end away. N B you must book a parking space as well as a room General review: Great place to stay for a week end in Sussex, lots of lovely country walks and pubs to visit. Lewes is also a lovely old town to wander around.

Date visited: 2010-08-30

Review by Stanley Crick on 5th November, 2006

Add your review
My wife and I visited Pelham House in October for our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful stay from the moment we walked through the door. The staff were all so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Dinner at circa was wonderful with really great staff who gave us free cocktails for our anniversary. Great views of the downs and right in the town so no driving needed.5 for parking a bit strange but all in all well worth a visit.

Date visited: october 2006

Review by Susan Jones on 14th June, 2006

Add your review
I visited the CIRCA restaurant within the hotel and feel compelled to warn potential customers. The staff were rude and arrogant, the atmosphere was contrived and parochial. The food was an utter disgrace and all at ridiculous prices. It began when were given an 'amuse-bouche' of a disgusting deep fried wonton served on a fake bank-note (why?). It then got progressively worse with every course consisting of poor quality food, often very badly cooked in terrible combinations. The chef seems to confuse sophistication with muddling up as many different nationality foods on one plate and stacking it all into 'artistic' piles and with a fancy swirl of inappropriate sauce on the side of the plate - thinks he's fooled us with fancy presentation. I never normally send reviews in, but this restaurant ruined my birthday and I couldn't allow someone else to have the same experience.

Date visited: April 2006

Review by Elizabeth Collins on 27th March, 2006

Add your review
Special weekend in such a lovely town completely ruined by our stay in this hotel. We were ironically moved into another room upon arrival, which turned out on the Saturday evening to be directly above a room where a private party was being held, with very loud live music. We were not informed of this beforehand and senior reception staff were extremely arrogant and rude when we suggested that this was not the ideal accompaniment to a Saturday evening. Restaurant was inexplicaby closed on Sunday evening, but yet again, nobody informed us of this upon arrival. Despite having been sent an email to the contrary, we were charged for cooked breakfast. Entire hotel seemed badly run, disorganized and cheaply furnished. My best advice would be Don't stay there, they do not deserve the custom and we shall never return. It was disgraceful!

Date visited: valentines weekend 2006

Review by Catherine Newbury on 1st August, 2005

Add your review
I am sad to say that I was disappointed by my visit to Pelham House. Entry was through the back of the hotel, in a rather strange arrangement. The rooms aim at a Hotel du Vin market but are not even close to this - some extremely strange double-glazing situation in place and, whereas some of the rooms are of adequate size, some are minute. The reception desk was constantly unattended, and the place gave the feel of being in a conference centre rather than a hotel. I found the whole place rather souless, though the town of Lewes itself is lovely.

Date visited: 11.06.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I have a fantasy where Ted Turner is elected president but refuses because he doesn't want to give up power. - Arthur C Clarke
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Falkirk - 1298, King David Hotel Bombing - 1946, Death of Jean Charles de Menezes - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages