It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Joe Rigatoni's, Middlesbrough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nial on 10th January, 2010

Add your review
Joe Rigatonis for years has been one of my favourite places for a casual meal out, but no longer. The staff seemed more bothered about chatting each other up than taking our order (which they got wrong, even with a new electronic order pads). I find it quite tiring trying to explain the order to someone who`s understanding of the English language was "minimal" The food was OK as usual...but the real kick in the teeth was when we came to pay. Now there is a compulsory "service charge" added to the end of the bill. If there is one thing I hate it is being forced to pay for the service if it has been bad. If I want to leave a tip, I want to be able to decide if I do or not, and not have the decision forced upon me, and I dont want it ending up in the companies bank account. Needless to say I will not be darkening Joe Rigatonis door ever again.

Date visited: 29/12/09

Review by Beth Noble on 8th June, 2009

Add your review
To celebrate a friend's pregnancy and upcoming wedding, five of us visited Rigatoni's in Middlesbrough. Maybe we got lucky, but we had a really good evening. I did enjoy the food (I had minestrone and the penne aribiatta - sorry if I've spelled that wrong!) but better than that, our waiter was so friendly, funny and helpful and chatted with us each time he came over. The only problem we had is that when we booked, we'd asked if it was okay for us to bring a cake and non-alcoholic champagne to surprise the bride-to-be and they said yes. They did bring the cake out (and put the sparklers on it for us!), but they sang happy birthday to her even though we'd told them what it was for. We didn't mind, though, it made us laugh. Unfortunately, though, they said they couldn't let us drink the champagne in the restaurant, which is a shame, because they'd agreed to it when we booked and we wanted the bride-to-be to be able to have a celebratory drink, and they didn't have non-alcoholic champagnes in the restaurant. That was just a small blip, though. The same five of us are going to the restaurant in Redcar this week - I hope we have another good experience!

Date visited: June 2007

Review by les mcpherson on 2nd March, 2009

Add your review
staff ok starter cold main meal cold

Date visited: sunday 1st march

Review by Ben on 22nd February, 2009

Add your review
If you are looking for good, healthy food then do not go here. The cuts of meat were awful, pork ribs barely had any meat on them and were covered in fat. Seafood tagliatelli had gritty and very low quality mussels involved. Even the wine had to be replaced! Probably best for large groups of people on a stag/hed do who arn't too bothered about paying lots for very poor food and atmosphere.

Date visited: 21/02/2009

Review by emma on 8th February, 2009

Add your review
visited for lunchtime special.food was great but only small servings.staff werent polite,and was yet again over charged.when complained about being over charged staff tried to make it out we where wrong,till they added it up again and found they had over charged by 5.90

Date visited: 6th feb

Review by Mrs mason on 4th February, 2009

Add your review
Having booked a table in stockton, I was very disappointed with the service, the food I could Not complain about as it was very nice, but when we arrived we were seated and it took them 20mins to come and ask if we wanted to order a drink and after 15mins it still hadn't arrived, I had to call a waiter and ask if we could have our drinks, 10mins later they arrived. After sitting for another 20mins I asked a waiter if we could order some food and his reply was 'I thought you had already ordered'. In my opinion they should have had more staff to cater for the amount of people that were there, they should know how many are booked in and should cater for them properly.

Date visited: sat 31st Jan

Review by jenny b on 28th November, 2008

Add your review
went to redcar restaurant last christmas n found that although the food n service were all great it was very very busy n hectic, which was understandable with it being christmas. went few days ago and had a lovely quiet lunch, it was a 2 course deal and the portions were huge n very nice. the booths have changed from last time n i think for the better, took my children with me which isnt always a great idea but the staff were very attentive n had lots for them to get on with which was good for me n my partner to relax a bit, we went again with friends the friday night, it was more lively yet the atmosphere was still relaxed with salsa music, which is a lot better that the loud hip hop they play in middlesbrough restauarant. again i really enjoyed it n the best bit of all they kept the wine flowing. would definatly recommend n will be back again

Date visited: 11/11/08

Review by Danielle on 26th November, 2008

Add your review
Joe Rigatonis Redcar restaurant is one of my favourite places to go for a meal with friends or family. The atmosphere is always friendly, the service is great and the food is delicious. All the meals I have ordered were well presented and cooked to perfection. I have not been dissapointed yet, great menu at reasonable prices. See you guys next week.

Date visited: every week

Review by Mary Kirk on 20th September, 2008

Add your review
In the food desert which is Redcar Joe Rigatoni's was an oasis. There was nowhere else I could find a meal with some healthy options at a reasonable price. Two of the three meals I had there were excellent value for money. The three nights I was in Redcar I went on each evening. The staff were friendly and attentive, and everyone else in the place seemed to be having a good time. But avoid the house red - it's very rough. It certainly beats the greasy kebab and pizza places, and I was glad to find it. Mary Kirk, Suffolk

Date visited: 14, 15, 16 Sept '08

Review by Mrs Hamilton on 21st December, 2007

Add your review
Visited the restaurant for the 1st time since changing over from Central Park. Bring back Central Park! Hadnt booked a table and were seated in the worst possible place. I had lasagne and would not have it again. It was full of pasta and hardly any mince. My husband had fillet steak and the plate was dripping in oil. Would never go back. Over priced and over rated.

Date visited: 12/11/07

Review by John Pratt on 24th November, 2007

Add your review
We arrived on time after booking into the Redcar restaurant and after 15 minutes were offered a table in the entrance hall.After another 15 minutes we were given a table in the restaurant proper.The starters arrived within 2 minutes of orderingand mine was cold and congealed prawns mussels and squid which had been deep fried and the shells left on the tails of the prawns. I was then given a main course of tortollino with ham. The ham looked like chicken,tasted and smelled like chicken..it was chicken. When I complained they showed me the boil in the bag wrapper which claimed it was ham Enough said I think. Avoid this place like the plague.

Date visited: 23/11/07

Review by julie chambers on 13th October, 2007

Add your review
hello myself and my husband visited your Middlesbrough restaurant everything apart from the food was spot but im sorry the meal is the main attraction to the place not the staff or music after a busy week we thought we would visit your place as recomended it by a friend, BUT we were not impressded the salad on our starter was brown ( i thought lettuce was green) and my main course was burnt. Although the waitress was all sorrys , and i was not charged for my meal it still was not nice to sit and watch my husband eat his as i could not stand another disapointment by ordering something else. Julie

Date visited: 13/10/2007

Review by annette hird on 4th May, 2006

Add your review
Please please will you open up in Sheffield I have to travel up to Middlesbrough for the experience you have to offer.. good inexpensive food fantastic atmosphere which always leaves a sinking feeling when we leave knowing that having tried and tested Sheffield menus NOTHING compares to Joe Rigatoni's So please consider Shefield There are numerous site here Please give us the opportunity and save us the expense of traveling 100 miles even though we love Middlesbrough What about it Please ? Regards Mrs Annette Hird 176 Raeburn Rd Sheffield S14 1SD

Date visited: numerous

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Take away love and our earth is a tomb. - Robert Browning
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Roundway Down - 1643, White City Stadium Opens - 1908, Ruth Ellis Hanged - 1955, Live Aid - 1985
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages