It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Monk Park Farm Visitor Centre, Thirsk

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nicki on 16th February, 2012

Add your review
Monk Park Farm in 2012 is not much better than the last time we visited in 2011: playground boggy and therefore unusable, tractors not working, cars not working, some of the animals don't appear to be very well cared for (not how i want my children to see animals). This place could be a lovely day out, but more effort needs to be taken to look after the animals properly and have all the attractions open! Wont be back in a hurry as there are plenty of other similar farms around who do this type of attraction better!

Date visited: 16 Feb 2012

Review by Olivia brown on 13th September, 2011

Add your review
Had a lovely day at the farm today! Wasnt great weather but nothing that a coat cant solve. Had a walk round the woodland and also feed the lambs, in which my daughter loved! The guinea pigs were very cute and my daughter wanted to take them all home! Barrel rides were bumpy but fun and i loved seeing the deer up close!! Tearoom was very good had burger chips and salad, was the best ive ever had. Lots to see and lots to do would definately recommend!

Date visited: 5 sept

Review by Chris on 19th May, 2011

Add your review
We had been there half an hour or so on a windy day when we decided to feed our 5 month-old baby. Too windy outside, so went to the cafe to find it shut. Asked in the gift shop and were told it was closed for the day due to an electrical problem. No one offered to open it for us temporarily to feed tha baby. Had to do the feed in the open. Decided it was too windy & cold to stay. Discovered most of the staff sheltering in the ticket office on the way out. Asked to speak to the owner to tell them why we were leaving and that we didn't think it was right not to inform us that the cafe was closed when we first arrived. Discovered two things. 1. apparently the cafe is run by an external contractor and is "nothing to do with the farm" despite being a) the only place to sit indoors and b) right smack in the middle of the farm... and 2. the bloke who owns the place is an unbelievably rude arse with as much empathy as a plank of wood, who clearly hates his customers. If it was just him I suppose it wouldn't be so bad, but it shows in the attitude of the staff. So, we paid 20 for a thoroughly miserable hour. Not going back and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else either.

Date visited: June 2010

Review by Julie Saunders on 29th July, 2010

Add your review
Good day out at the Farm, very caring staff who were willing to help us out with Guinea pig handling and pony rides, reasonable prices. However cafe prices were very expensive and the quality of the food for that pricing was not acceptable, would recommend taking a picnic!

Date visited: 26th July, 2010

Review by Sharon Lockwood on 28th July, 2010

Add your review
I visited monk park farm on 25th July 2010 with my grandchildren and we had a fantastic time the children loved siting with the guenie pigs and feeding the lambs with bottles of milk. We used the indoor picnic area because we had been told the tea room was a bit pricey and they were right it would have cost us alot to have a sandwiches so take a picnic and they dont take credit card but luckerly I had enough cash on me. The children were shatterd because after lunch we did the woodland walk feeding the animals with feed bags on the way round then we sat with a cupps while the children played in the play area which had a realey big sand pit I have ever seen,,swings,climing frame,and lots more.we had a realy good day out and will be going again very soon Sharon

Date visited: 25th July 2010

Review by Lea on 13th April, 2010

Add your review
Arrived at Monk Park Farm this morning with our 5 children and disabled Boyfriend ( driving), couldnt park in the disabled car park as the staff had their Van parked in it so we parked else were nr to the entrance,next thing a man comes over bangs on the window and quite agressivly tells my boyfriend to move his car as its causing a blind spot and we would run a child over and walks away, my boyfriend calls after him, asks him what his problem is and why he feels the need to shout at customers ? and was told to get the car moved now. We parked else were and my boyfriend by this time was fuming, got out his car to speak to the man and ask him if there was any need to speak to ppl in that tone when he could have simply said " plse could you move your car, as this is a blind spot Sir " and we would of happily done so my bf asked why there was no sign there to state this and hed have not parked up and the man came back with.... I DONT HAVE TO PUT A SIGN THERE ,IF I DONT WANT!! so my bf asked for his name and the managers name.... he gave no name and said I AM THE OWNER AND YOU CAN GO ELSEWERE!!!! says it all i think..... so we did. some ppl sooooo rude

Date visited: 13 April 20010

Review by pat on 16th February, 2010

Add your review
visited for the first time the pathways extremely boggy couldnt get around because of this staff disinterested,felt as though they just wanted your money i have been to better council parks for free, should not have been allowed to open it was like a qauqmire, keep your money go elsewhere

Date visited: 14/02.2010

Review by Lindsey Wahab on 30th October, 2009

Add your review
I disagee with the last review- we spent a lovely afternoon here. The animals are in huge fields with loads of space to roam free. They were all well tended and very tame. The kids play area was very large with a huge sandoit in the middle.And the go-karts were good fun for all ages!! The staff were friendly and helpful.By todays standards, it was not too expensive and there were loads of animals to see.

Date visited: October 30th 2009

Review by Rich on 31st July, 2009

Add your review
We had heard great things about Monk Park Farm from many people, but I have to say that we were very dissapointed with the set up. Its great that you can feed the animal but we have been to many better places. The grounds are okay but not great and the cafe poor. The worst thing was the staff who seemed disinterested in us and the animals. Okay if you are really stuck, but we won't be going back.

Date visited: 20th June2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When a thing's done, it's done, and if it's not done right, do it differently next time. - Arthur Ransome
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford surrenders to the Roundheads - 1646, The Legendary Newbury Coat Made - 1811, Worlds First Live Satellite Broadcast - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages