Tillington

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Tillington Hall, Stafford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Linda on 17th October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Was initially given a single ensuite room that has evidently been heavily used for smoking, still fumes in the room and very unpleasant. Reception were very quick to change it - and upgrade to a double room ensuite. Bad Points: Housekeeping - you could not miss the cigarette smoke in the first room. General review: Bed very comfortable, room warm, no problems with noise or disturbance - very quiet.

Date visited: 2009-10-17

Review by Roger on 10th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The room was excellent. Quality of the food was very good. Bad Points: The waiting staff, although polite and courteous, left us waiting at the dining table for a good 10 minutes before I was able to ask someone for drinks. For the meal, there was no sea bass. There were no lamb shanks. The third choice, Hip bone steaks carried a £3.25 'supplement' each because they were not pre-booked! At breakfast, there were no spare cups, we had to ask for bacon, brown toast since it appeared that the staff were waiting for items to run out before being replenished. Plates were left piled on the table until it appeared we were virtually finished before being removed. A big disappointment from a hotel that has a reputable name in the town.

Date visited: 2008-09-10

Review by Arthur on 22nd June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Quality of food. Breakfast service and range of food very good. Bad Points: Poor light in the room (too dim) General review: Good.

Date visited: 2008-06-22

Review by Colin E on 14th November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Proximity to Motorway, good parking, not far from town. Bad Points: My fellow travellers room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. General review: Hotel was as advertised. Staff were friendly & helpful.

Date visited: 2007-11-14

Review by Anonymous on 26th August, 2006

Add your review
General Review: The check in process was a little unclear regarding dinner, leading us to believe that we had to wait until 7pm, when we actually could have got our bar meal earlier. The bar area was too small and felt unclean and smokey, possibly could use a non-smoking rule? We also had a bill from another room stapled to our room number when we tried to check out, however this was taken care of easily. The only other problem was the other guests in the leisure pool. There were a number of children in the pool when we went to use it, they were misbehaving and were frequently told off by guests and by the girl at the desk. However they did not stop what they were doing and a number of people eventually left the pool because of this. They seemed to be under 16, and maybe should not have been allowed to swim without parental supervision?

Date visited: 2006-08-26

Review by Chris, Salford on 23rd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Its close proximity to Stafford train station. Bad Points: The borderline surly / smug staff, the standard of the single room I stayed in (not more than adequate in most respects, although the bed was comfortable). General Review: I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the weekend of August 19th & 20th 2006 during the V Festival. Although I did ask by phoning first that I could check in earlier than advertised before booking online (preferably around 11am, as opposed to the standard 2pm check in time), I arrived to find that this was not the case and that I would have to leave my belongings in a communial function room until later. Since I would not be back at the hotel until after the festival finished for the day (after midnight by the time transport was taken into account), this was not the ideal start to my stay. The room was small and not particularly well cared for - the carpet was worn in places and my bath didn't drain water quickly after a shower, leaving you standing in ankle height water. The staff were either smug or surly (or a delightful mixture of the two) and did not make me feel especially welcome, aside from the one friendly lady who dealt with the seating for breakfast. All in all the hotel wasn't anywhere near approaching fantastic, especially considering the price, but it did beat sleeping in a field for the duration of the festival. Just.

Date visited: 2006-08-23

Review by john, Middlesbrough on 11th May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: staff friendliness , excellant service, very good food in restaurant such a refreshing change to get fresh vegetables instead of chips with your meal General Review: I would recommend the hotel to everyone It could do with a lick of paint in places but fantastic service and excellant value for money it even has a gym, pool and sauna

Date visited: 2006-05-11

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is no education like adversity. - Benjamin Disraeli
More Quotes

On this day:
Victoria - First Sovereign to Take the Train - 1842, Deadliest WWI Raid on London - 1917, First V1 Rocket hits London - 1944, Fantasy Assassin Targets the Queen - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages