George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George Hotel, Battle

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 9th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Breakfast reasonably good, parking relatively easy Bad Points: Room very small for two, decor outdated, bathroom extras lacking except a poor shower gel dispenser (no tissues, no soap), no television remote control, small tv set, welcome approximate General review: Not the best value for money to say the least

Date visited: 2008-06-09

Review by Fran on 6th November, 2006

Add your review
What a disappointment. This could be such a lovely hotel and a little goldmine…but it's not. The toilet hadn't been cleaned, cleaning up someone else’s excrement is not a good start to a weekend break. The radiator in the room didn't work - in NOVEMBER freezing temperatures - the excuse given was that the pipes are old and that people always complain it's too hot or too cold. No blankets provided so slept in fleece, socks and gloves. Breakfast was appalling. Too many people, one poor lad trying to organise – I don't expect to share a table when paying over £80 for the night. This was just laziness, there is plenty of restaurant room, but keeping everyone cramped on one floor to 'save them going up and down the stairs' is cheap. The breakfast was overcooked, stored in those metal containers that are completely ineffective, and looked as if it had been cooked the night before. But, as a previous reviewer has stated, there's no point in complaining, the chap on the desk just whines on about all the jobs he has to do. We drove home cold – glad to get in the car for some warmth, hungry and certainly not revived by our weekend break. The only way I can vote, is with my feet. Avoid.

Date visited: 04/11/06

Review by Anonymous on 23rd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: New bed was very comfortable. Sheets and towels freshly laundered and looked new. Breakfast was good. Bad Points: Too noisy (single glazed window insufficient for main road location). Outdated shower arrangement. Had to ask for TV to be provided. Dirty window frame. No lounge in hotel. Reception in another building (caused confusion at first due to lack of clear signage in car park). General Review: Would have liked to have known that the room was noisy due to location (overlooking busy main road). Absence of resident lounge left it feeling anonymous and cold.

Date visited: 2006-08-23

Review by Mark Grafton on 5th July, 2006

Add your review
AVOID AVOID AVOID. I stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding with my wife and a business colleague of hers. The room we were given was no where near the standard you would expect of a £70 rate. No light in the bathroom (shaving light worked) Hairdryer didn't work, The "shower" consisted of the rubber hose type that you attach to each tap! Had to find it first though. The decor hadn't been touched in 25 years apart from a new door that hadn't been painted either. It looked like it was a forced health and safety measure anyway. This was after changing from our first room!. The breakfast area in the morning looked much better. However, the full cooked breakfast was obviously prepared the day before and nuked when the choice of egg was added. I could go on but to summarise: if you want accomodation that should cost £35 a night - fine. If not, avoid. Oh, and don't bother complaining as you will be ignored.

Date visited: 26/05/06

Review by John M, Liphook on 26th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Room was comfortable and clean Bad Points: There was a very unpleasant pungent smell from the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. This was not part of the hotel but the smell invaided the stairs up to the hotel rooms. It did not reach the corridor where my room was but it was an unpleasant experience going to and from the room. General Review: I was a disappointed that the ground floor of the building had been taken over by an Italian Restaurant and was no longer part of the Hotel. The hotel reception and restaurant were in an adjoining building and there was no lounge or area where one could sit with or wait for colleagues.

Date visited: 2006-06-26

Review by Shirley, Potters Bar on 6th April, 2006

Add your review
Customer: Shirley, Potters Bar Good Points: Central position in Battle with free parking facilities. The restaurant was excellent. Bad Points: Towel rail in bathroom would be helpful. Thought should be given to guests' safety getting in and out of the bath. General Review: We had the American 4 poster bedroom, which was novel. However, the bath posed serious problems getting in and out, and could prove to be dangerous. Having said that the bed was very comfortable and the room clean. The staff were courteous and helpful and it was a real boon to have free parking right in the centre of town. We had dinner in the restuarant and cannot speak highly enough of the quality and presentation of the food served - it is a must for anyone staying in Battle.

Date visited: 2006-04-06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There are a terrible lot of lies going about the world, and the worst of it is that half of them are true. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Guy Fawkes begins - 1606, Mick the Miller Wins his Second Greyhound Derby - 1930, Gareth Edwards – the Greatest Try - 1973
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages